Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater (close to Rose Farm) and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

Ullswater holiday rentals – Rose Farm

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th August, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Wonderful property in a stunning location”

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Charcoal House, which has to be the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in.

Everything about the house was perfect, so much attention to detail and as for the beds – so comfortable.

The location is so peaceful with fine walks nearby. Our highlight being the hike up the Old Man of Coniston and beyond.

We sampled many fine pubs all of which are a short drive away.

A thoroughly enjoyable week in the lakes, we will definitely be back to Charcoal House – Nick Baldwin, Uckfield, East Sussex

12th August, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

“I would just like to say thank you for everything you arranged for us.

Our stay was fantastic. All of our family and guests for the week were really impressed with cottage and it’s tranquil feeling.

Should this be the standard of your other properties we will certainly be returning to one of them” – Stuart Ireland

12th August, 2017

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Hidden Gem of Cark”

We stayed in this super cottage for two weeks and really enjoyed everything it has to offer.

Lovely and clean, really good quality beds and bedding so had a excellent nights sleep and always felt well rested.

Everything you need in a cottage for the whole of your stay was provided and the kitchen is really spacious so very enjoyable to cook those lovely meals you never seem to get the time to do in your busy life.

The fact that it is pet friendly made it even better for us and it is so well situated to visit so many places, and lovely to have a warm and welcoming cottage to come back to after a busy day exploring.

Will definitely be back as even after two weeks still didn’t manage to see everything we wanted – Pam Jenkins, St. Helens

twittername