Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

9th August, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

From Email

Hi Simon,

Just wanted to send a review of our 4 night stay at Charcoal House from the 5th of August to the 9th as I never found the time to write a review in the guest book.

The property was absolutely stunning and I must say the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in (and we’ve stopped in quite a few).

Fabulous kitchen with the Aga. The Nook was so perfect for my daughter and her boyfriend and the other bedrooms were gorgeous, beautifully decorated, comfy beds and lovely bedding.

The lounge area was excellent for chilling out in the evening for all six of us and our chocolate Labrador Mabel, who thoroughly enjoyed her stay in this lovely cottage and the surrounding areas.

Thank you so much and we will have no hesitation recommending this property to our friends and will definitely be back to this property or one of your others in the future.

Regards

Melanie Caddy

5th August, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Just home from our Friday to Monday stay. We were there as a family to celebrate a special surprise birthday treat. It was perfect, the cottage is beautiful and so well equiped to meet all of your needs. So close to the centre of the village which is also stunning.

Lots of lovely walks on the doorstep. A perfect place to relax and spend quality family time. I would not hesitate to recommend or to stay here again. Loved it – June

12th July, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Cosy country cottage”

Carree is a charming and well-equipped country cottage in South Lakeland. It’s perfect for a quiet getaway within easy walking of Holker Hall, Cartmel village and the Cartmel peninsula. It’s great whether you’re interested in gardens, gastronomy or the local bays and birdlife.

For years we’ve driven by South Lakeland and headed for the peaks. What a mistake! South Lakeland has so much to offer and is still within easy reach of Grizedale, Coniston, the Duddon valley and Windermere – Kay