Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater (close to Rose Farm) and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

Ullswater holiday rentals – Rose Farm

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

15th January, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“2nd visit and we will be back”

A really excellent holiday house. Loads of old style character but with modern luxury comforts.

We had a discussion about what if anything could be improved and decided the only thing was the dribbly tea pot. On second thoughts though we loved that too! – Jude

12th January, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

 5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Escape”

Just got home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful cottage. Never written a review on trip advisor before but had to with this place as it was truly beautiful.

We’ve already been recommending to friends and family as a perfect base for visiting the rest of the lakes.

The cottage, and in particular the kitchen, were really well equipped which was great because I love cooking.

Also got to mention local bakery, Fat Flour, delicious! We made several visits!

We had our 7 month old cockapoo Walter with us too who spent many an hour snuggled up in front of the log fire, after long days spent exploring during our walks. The walk to Cartmel through the woods – approx 2 miles either way – and a day spent at Haverigg beach I think were his personal highlights during our stay. Thank you for an amazing visit – Amy Newton, Nantwich, Cheshire

15th December, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“High end property with great views”

Cartmel Hill is a spacious property with a beautiful view towards Morecambe bay capturing the sunset.

We found the house to be warm spacious and well equipped and the location great, just a 15 minute walk into the village.

Would love to return in spring/summer to make use of the wonderful summerhouse and for bird watching.

There are great walks from the doorstep, an OS map enables you to make up your own walks! Thanks to Simon and the team – Frank & Wendy Hayes, Chorley, Lancashire

twittername