Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

21st September, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“An ideal base for exploring the Lake District”

A very well appointed rental property that offered a real home from home.

Very tastefully furnished with everything provided that might be needed.

Extremely quiet.

Ideally located for access to main routes for exploring the Lake District. Good local facilities and easy access to Ulverston for shopping requirements. Owner very attentive. Highly recommended – Phil Burrell, Wlithshire

14th September, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing 5 Star”

Wow, what an amazing place this is, the surrounding area one is of the most beautiful parts ok the UK.

The accomodation was perfect in every sense. Plentiful in space throughout, decorated in a very tasteful way with every luxury from broadband internet, smart TV, roll top bath and fantastic beds, through to Nespresso coffee machine, Le creuset kitchenware and the warming aga which I was dreading but it is so easy to use, with thoughtful instructions, I now want one in my kitchen at home (the aga is bigger than my kitchen so that isn’t happening!).

There’s plenty of books, DVDs and local information to keep you entertained, a great covered balcony with table and chairs from the upstairs living room and a beautiful view. There is even an umbrella, washing machine and separate dryer and a huge fridge freezer.

Our family, in particular my German in-laws, loved everything about it and really hope to come back, thank you so much – Robert

3rd September 2018

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Fantastic cottage with all mod cons, set in a great location. Great pubs, great walks all from the doorstep, just loved this place & will definitely recommend, comfy beds & spacious rooms!! – Gill