Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

8th April, 2019

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Weekend away”

What a lovely cottage in an amazing part of the world. The cottage had everything we needed.

The village of Cark is very friendly for both children and dogs. There is a lovely safe walk to Cartmel which was enjoyed by all of us. Will defo return 🤗 – Sara, Burnley

31st March, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely comfortable Cottage!!”

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely comfortable cottage. Cottage is pet friendly too and our pet dog “George” really enjoyed his stay and was very relaxed staying in the cottage.

We loved the whole layout and it was so well equipped. Spotless bed linen and towels also.The real log fireplace was really cosy to light on an evening after enjoyable long /short walks.

We really enjoyed looking up at the star filled sky on a clear night from the cottage garden. It’s in such a lovely peaceful place. It’s in a great location too. Lovely friendly pub “The Engine Inn” is less than 2 minutes walk away. Handy grocery shop/general store “Londis” is also less than 2 minutes away.

Simon has thought of everything and his recommended walks written in the guest book were a great help.

We will highly recommend staying in your cottages to family/friends/colleagues. Thank you!! – Liza

22nd March, 2019

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on ‘Trip Advisor’

“Amazing house!”

We can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed Cartmel Hill.

The house is beautiful, even nicer than expected, so spacious. Lots of room for our group of 7, so nice to have so many bathrooms and living space to spread out when we wanted.

The summer house is awesome, what a wonderful place to have a glass of wine and play some games at night.

Cartmel village is wonderful, so many friendly people and great shops and restaurants.

We loved taking the public footpaths through the forest to get to the village. Also enjoyed exploring the footpaths up the hill from the house – what views!!

Simon is a great host, house was easy to find thanks to his directions. We hope to come back to Cartmel one day and wouldn’t hesitate to book Cartmel Hill again. Thanks Simon! – Gillian Pettersen – Prince George, British Columbia, Canada