Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater (close to Rose Farm) and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

Ullswater holiday rentals – Rose Farm

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

4th June, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fabulous cottage”

Lovely cottage, has everything you need. We stayed here with our dogs in June, last minute getaway, loved it!

Kitchen has everything you need, lovely garden, beds are really comfortable, one of the nicest cottages we’ve stayed in.

Loved the little bakery (300 yards away). We went everyday, pizza and breads gorgeous, nice pub on the corner, ideal little village.

Spent our days out sight seeing, didn’t make it to the beach. Would definitely stay again.

Simon was great to deal with. Thank you! 🙂 – Lisa

25th May, 2018

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Location, location & a fab cottage !”

Fab location and a beautiful cottage to stay in = perfect holiday.

We ate out in Cartmel nearly everyday and were never disappointed – also breakfast rolls from Wellbread most days set us up for our days out exploring the beautiful countryside and must mention Unsworth’s Yard for beer in the afternoon sun in their lovely courtyard – we also had the added bonus of bluebells in the racecourse woods and on our walk over the top to Grange and we were very lucky to have lots of sunshine 🙂 – Lucy

 

21st May, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on ‘mycottageholiday.co.uk’

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my Dad’s 60th birthday and it was just the perfect spot.

A lovely homely feel about the cottage and everything you could possibly need was catered for.

Great location, especially as we visited L’Enclume in nearby Cartmel as part of our stay.

Fantastic dog walks, and so much information provided by the owners that you wouldn’t even need to have done any research beforehand.

We found nearby Humphrey Head when out exploring, where at low tide the dogs ran around for ages enjoying a dip in the water.

We didn’t really want to leave so I’m sure we’ll find a reason to return – Claire Waidson, Chelmsford, Essex

twittername