Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater (close to Rose Farm) and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

Ullswater holiday rentals – Rose Farm

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

6th July, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful Cottage”

We had a lovely five days stay at Bridgelands Cottage. It was the ideal place to have a beautiful restful break.

Very clean and well equipped with everything you need to make it a joy to come back to after a long walk enjoying the lovely scenery.

Our dog loved the freedom of running around in the enclosed garden too.

Would love to come back one day for another enjoyable and peaceful break – Paul

6th July, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 star Review on Home Away

“Superb cottage in an outstanding location”

Driving up the lane to the cottage I must say it looked impressive standing out on the hill in the glorious sunshine.

This truly is a peaceful location, the views are spectacular. Internally the cottage is furnished to a very high standard throughout.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need. The two main bedrooms have large impressive ensuite bathrooms.

The summer house in the garden is fantastic and again furnished to a very high standard.

Simon provides lots of information about the local area, places to walk and eat.

The beautiful village of Cartmel is about a 20 minute walk once you have found the path through the wood. It has lots of places to eat and drink, our favorite being the Cavendish Arms.

Cartmel Hill cottage is truly a five star accommodation. Communication and customer service provided by Simon was outstanding making our holiday a very memorable one.
Thanks again Simon! we will be back. The Kirk family from Yorkshire

18th June, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

Beautiful stay in the cottage, we struggled to leave!

Highly recommend ‘Fat Flour’ bakery for weekend pizza and breakfast delights – you need to get there early to have the best croissants outside France!

Frankie, Alice & Helen with Clover & Bramble the dogs

twittername