Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

18th February, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires 🔥 – Catherine

28th January,

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham