28th December, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Wonderful House and Location”

We recently returned from Cartmel Hill having spent Christmas with family from the United States and Canada. The house is absolutely stunning, even better than we ever imagined.

The kitchen was very well equipped with every utensil you can think of. A pleasure to cook in.

The bedrooms all very spacious and comfortable.

Simon arranged various Christmas decorations and a tree which made the house so cosy and homely. We loved it.

It’s set in a perfect location for exploring the Lakes and even the Yorkshire Dales. Cartmel is a beautiful village especially so at Christmas with many fairy lights and trees. It was about a 20 minute walk from the house.

We ate at the Pig and Whistle and The Cavendish Arms both serving good food but our overall vote went to the Cavendish. We also had lunch in Grange over Sands at the Hazelmere.

Simon suggested some supermarkets that would deliver groceries and this worked out beautifully.

We all thoroughly enjoyed staying in Cartmel Hill and cannot recommend it enough. I only wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return – The Carruthers family, Sussex, USA & Canada

17th December, 2018

Fabulous!

The Christmas decorations were the finishing touch.

We will be back! – The Altrincham Crew

19th November, 2019

We’ve had a fabulous time in this wonderful house.

It’s so obvious how much care and attention has gone into the design and quality.

We are looking forward to coming back in 2019! – The Hinder and Hayes families

12th November, 2018

As ever, we are very, very happy with our choice of venue for our annual weekend away.

Everything is super comfy and relaxing. The only downside is that time goes quicker in Cartmel  than at home and our break is over too soon.

Thanks again Simon – The Hugh Jackman Appreciation Society

2nd November, 2018

The best holiday house we’ve been to.

An amazing house with excellent views and a house that suited all of our needs for 7 adults, 2 children, a baby and 2 dogs.

Very well equipped, warm and homely. We had a fantastic family holiday celebrating a special birthday.

We will definitely book again and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you! – The Burton & Cook families visiting from Southampton and Moldova

26th October, 2018

Such a great house and great layout! We’ve really enjoyed our week’s holiday.

After reading Simon’s recommendations, we decided to book a table at the Masons Arms at Strawberry Bank and had an amazing meal, thoroughly recommended!

We will definitely book to come here again! Thank you for a great week in a gorgeous house – The Collett family, Woking, Surrey

19th October, 2018

Another memorable holiday at Cartmel Hill with 3 generations of our family.

Good weather, stunning sunsets, and lots of miles touring this beautiful part of the world.

Thank you again Simon and team for providing such a fabulous, well equipped, comfortable and warm house for us to spend quality time with our family – The Welch family, Giffnock, Scotland

15th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Stunning Large Holiday Home in Cartmel village, South Lakes”

We expected a lovely cottage from the pictures but what we got surpassed our expectations.

The property is set an an amazing location in the beautiful area of Cartmel, with every room spotless and finished to the most perfect detail.

Our party of 10 adults had such a relaxing stay, whilst our little one was captivated by the internal and external scale including the two staircases and lovely garden.

Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to use the Summer House but hope to return to do so in the future to do it justice! 

The communications from Simon were virtually instant, clear and informative.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy a break from it all – Colin 

12th October, 2018

A very well-equipped property set in a very lovely, rural, hillside location with super vistas down the valley to Morecambe Bay.

We had a very relaxing, quiet week here – The Silver family, Leicestershire

5th October, 2018

A beautifully well-equipped cottage with wonderful views and a nice walk in to Cartmel village.

We all had a ball especially our 2 dogs, Ruby & Ralph who gave it the ‘paws up’ 😊 – Tabor family, St Helens

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

7th January, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful, exceptional comfy house”

What can I say but amazing and just what we all needed after a very busy Christmas.

My Husband, children, grandparents, grandchildren and myself stayed at Charcoal House and once again what a wonderful house it is.

The house is very spacious, comfy and very clean and made extra special with the welcoming warmth of the Aga, which we made great use of, although we did go for a lovely evening meal at The Mill in Ulverston.

The large sitting area is beautiful and the lovely balcony with its amazing view, great for spotting the local wildlife.

We stayed for 3 days at the house relaxing, walking and on the last day just spent at the lake just skimming stones, the grandchildren just loved this.

This is the 3rd property we have rented from Simon and all equally as nice. So once again thank you and can’t wait for next time – Lindsay Sandilands

2nd January, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

What an amazing stay we’ve had in such a beautiful cottage. It is absolutely stunning! Wow! everything we could ever need is here!

We feel so lucky to have started 2019 here and hope to come back soon – The Berry family, Manchester

31st December, 2018

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

Beautiful house and amazing scenery.

The cottage is to a fantastic standard which made a stay even better.

My family enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be back soon.

Thank you – The Holden’s, Liverpool