22nd March, 2019

5 of 5 Review on ‘Trip Advisor’

“Amazing house!”

We can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed Cartmel Hill.

The house is beautiful, even nicer than expected, so spacious. Lots of room for our group of 7, so nice to have so many bathrooms and living space to spread out when we wanted.

The summer house is awesome, what a wonderful place to have a glass of wine and play some games at night.

Cartmel village is wonderful, so many friendly people and great shops and restaurants.

We loved taking the public footpaths through the forest to get to the village. Also enjoyed exploring the footpaths up the hill from the house – what views!!

Simon is a great host, house was easy to find thanks to his directions. We hope to come back to Cartmel one day and wouldn’t hesitate to book Cartmel Hill again. Thanks Simon! – Gillian Pettersen – Prince George, British Columbia, Canada

18th March, 2019

5 of 5 Review on ‘Trip Advisor’

“Wow!”
 
Booked this house for a large group who were going to run a trail race from Cartmel racecourse. Location was ideal,

The house is superb and more than lives up to the website description and photos. Rooms were plush and beds comfortable. Bathrooms spacious, and a kitchen to die for. No expense has been spared in either furniture or fittings. The lounge was comfy, we all fought over the swivel chair.

Didn’t use the summerhouse but it would be fab on a better weekend. The garden and views from it were fantastic.

We will definitely try to rebook – Ian Rayner, Leeds

11th March, 2019

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Beautiful house in a great setting”

Great place to stay for touring south Cumbria. The house is very large and plenty of bathrooms to use. Good parking for a number of cars.

I would certainly not hesitate to stay at this house again at any time of year as the views are fantastic from every lounge window – Kevin Lace

26th February, 2019

From email

We have had a wonderful time. Cartmel Hill is a superb cottage with so much space and peacefulness.

We only walked a little way because Anders (our older dog) struggles now so it was enough to go to the waterfall for him.

There are a pair of ducks that frequent the water that passes down near all the glorious crocuses and they enjoyed me feeding them.

There is everything and more within the cottage to make ones stay exceptional.

Cartmel is amazing with so much to offer and when we come again with more time to venture further we will get the chance to explore more or your recommended haunts and walks.

Our dining experience at L’Enclume was fabulous…. amazing food and wine and service.  Rogan & Co was also splendid, with so much to choose from on the menus I think you could go everyday for many weeks to taste it all !!!

We are saddened to have cut short our trip this time but have so much to look forward to later in the year – Yvette & Greg, Maxey, Cambridgeshire

28th December, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Wonderful House and Location”

We recently returned from Cartmel Hill having spent Christmas with family from the United States and Canada. The house is absolutely stunning, even better than we ever imagined.

The kitchen was very well equipped with every utensil you can think of. A pleasure to cook in.

The bedrooms all very spacious and comfortable.

Simon arranged various Christmas decorations and a tree which made the house so cosy and homely. We loved it.

It’s set in a perfect location for exploring the Lakes and even the Yorkshire Dales. Cartmel is a beautiful village especially so at Christmas with many fairy lights and trees. It was about a 20 minute walk from the house.

We ate at the Pig and Whistle and The Cavendish Arms both serving good food but our overall vote went to the Cavendish. We also had lunch in Grange over Sands at the Hazelmere.

Simon suggested some supermarkets that would deliver groceries and this worked out beautifully.

We all thoroughly enjoyed staying in Cartmel Hill and cannot recommend it enough. I only wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return – The Carruthers family, Sussex, USA & Canada

17th December, 2018

Fabulous!

The Christmas decorations were the finishing touch.

We will be back! – The Altrincham Crew

19th November, 2019

We’ve had a fabulous time in this wonderful house.

It’s so obvious how much care and attention has gone into the design and quality.

We are looking forward to coming back in 2019! – The Hinder and Hayes families

12th November, 2018

As ever, we are very, very happy with our choice of venue for our annual weekend away.

Everything is super comfy and relaxing. The only downside is that time goes quicker in Cartmel  than at home and our break is over too soon.

Thanks again Simon – The Hugh Jackman Appreciation Society

2nd November, 2018

The best holiday house we’ve been to.

An amazing house with excellent views and a house that suited all of our needs for 7 adults, 2 children, a baby and 2 dogs.

Very well equipped, warm and homely. We had a fantastic family holiday celebrating a special birthday.

We will definitely book again and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you! – The Burton & Cook families visiting from Southampton and Moldova

26th October, 2018

Such a great house and great layout! We’ve really enjoyed our week’s holiday.

After reading Simon’s recommendations, we decided to book a table at the Masons Arms at Strawberry Bank and had an amazing meal, thoroughly recommended!

We will definitely book to come here again! Thank you for a great week in a gorgeous house – The Collett family, Woking, Surrey

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

9th July, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

Good morning Simon,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic break in Carree Cottage.  In no small measure, that was due to the excellent pre-arrival service from you and the thorough information pack that you provided.  You obviously put a lot of work into that and it was much appreciated.

We visited many of the places you suggested and had a splendid time.  We walked on most days and hardly took the car out of the garage.  The weather cooperated too!

A very memorable holiday.  We hope to be back to South Lakeland and Carree Cottage again soon.

Many Thanks,

Keith & Annie Andrews, Telford, Shropshire

28th June, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

We had a wonderful stay at Weaver’s Cottage with our friends. We spent most of our time relaxing in the beautiful conservatory or walking into the village and trying out all the lovely eateries.

Also did a few day trips to Grange-over-Sands, Bowness-on-Windermere and Ambleside.

The standard of the cottage was excellent with all our needs met and more.  We didn’t use the beautiful kitchen with all its appliances etc. as it was a holiday and cooking was not on our list!

The garden was beautiful and all very spacious with plenty of parking space.

The proximity to the village was great and very handy to walk to.

Our only disappointment was that we left a day too early to see Cliff Richards perform at the race meeting.

Regards

Helen and Garry Greenhill, Heidelberg,  Australia

24th May, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”

Lovely 4 bed cottage in pretty Cartmel.  Well equipped and spotless.

Comfy beds, modern bathrooms and plenty of parking space. A great base for Cartmel and the south lakes.

A short walk into Cartmel with its amazing Priory and charming racecourse. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the village. We enjoyed the Priory Hotel for simple quality food and The Cavendish for something a bit more adventurous. We will be back – Charles