17th August, 2018

Thank you for a lovely stay in this beautiful holiday home!

It is not only comfortable and accommodating but also impeccably clean. Cartmel is a very sweet little village with some nice restaurants and gift shops.

Our favourite place for food in the area was the Priory Hotel for sandwiches made with delicious Hazelmere bread. We have also visited Grange-Over-Sands, Ulverston and we took the train and ferry over to Bowness. Ollie loved all the lovely country walks too!

Thanks again – Barbara, Ron, Chloe, Katie, Chris, Sophie & Ollie, Gateshead

3rd August, 2018

5 star Review on Trip Advisor

“Idyllic house in a beautiful and peaceful location”

This house sits high upon a hill with wonderful views across to Grange-over-Sands. There does not appear to have been any expense spared in the quality of the fixtures and fittings.

The kitchen was very well equipped with every utensil you could ask for and cooking a meal was not a chore as you have a huge space in which to work and a lovely view from the kitchen window. If I had this kitchen at home I would probably do a lot more cooking.

Outside is a marvelous summer house in which we spent some of our evenings playing board games – and there is no need to go back into the house to obtain a second bottle of wine as the summer house is equipped with a fridge!

We particularly liked the ‘upside down’ aspect of the house – the lounge, dining room and kitchen are on the 1st floor, thereby ensuring you have the best views of the surrounding countryside.

The house is full of character and the layout is very interesting – it has 2 staircases and I have to admit to almost getting lost within the first 5 minutes of arrival! There is a second small sitting room on the ground floor so that anyone can have some quiet time if they wish.

Cartmel itself is a lovely little village and I would recommend a visit to the Priory. We ate at the Pig and Whistle and the Cavendish Arms. Both served good quality food, but I would say the Cavendish has the edge.

This is a great location for exploring the Lake District and is within very easy driving distance of the South Lakes. One slight word of warning – do be careful on the narrow roads approaching the house. We were fortunate enough not to have to pass anyone as the roads are extremely quiet, however, I would advise driving slowly especially near the bends.

Simon, the owner, responded promptly to my queries and provided information about the local amenities in the surrounding areas prior to our visit.

If you choose to book this house for your holiday I cannot imagine that you would be disappointed. I rarely write reviews but I was so impressed with this house and I would highly recommend it to anyone – Jane Senior

6th July, 2018

5 star Review on Home Away

“Superb cottage in an outstanding location”

Driving up the lane to the cottage I must say it looked impressive standing out on the hill in the glorious sunshine.

This truly is a peaceful location, the views are spectacular. Internally the cottage is furnished to a very high standard throughout.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need. The two main bedrooms have large impressive ensuite bathrooms.

The summer house in the garden is fantastic and again furnished to a very high standard.

Simon provides lots of information about the local area, places to walk and eat.

The beautiful village of Cartmel is about a 20 minute walk once you have found the path through the wood. It has lots of places to eat and drink, our favorite being the Cavendish Arms.

Cartmel Hill cottage is truly a five star accommodation. Communication and customer service provided by Simon was outstanding making our holiday a very memorable one.
Thanks again Simon! we will be back. The Kirk family from Yorkshire

11th June, 2018

Beautiful cottage!

Amazing weather and great company.

Amazing weekend spent with family. We will be back again! – Nathan, Paula, Jarrad, Erin, Gill,  Mark, Gemma, John, Stef & Oliver

1st June, 2018

Splendid!

Thank you – Lindsay & family

21st May, 2018

An absolute perfect place for my 60th birthday!

Will definitely be back again – Jonathan, Matthew, Roger, Sue, Dave, Jane, Caroline, Clare and Fran and not forgetting Monty the dog

11th May, 2018

A fabulous stay in a fabulous place!

What more needs to be said?

Thank you, see you soon – Alan and Helen Robinson with Nellie the dog

30th April, 2018

Fantastic house with beautiful views.

Weather much better than forecast so took advantage of the wonderful summer house.

Would definitely stay here again – Chris, Lesley, Claire, Matt, John, Elsie, Davied & Kath and Muffin

27th April, 2018

Thank you all once again for another brilliant break at this fabulous house.

Once again we loved every minute. Joined this time by our son John, wife Lyn and daughter Isla who all were also wowed by it. Action packed few days!

Good meal at The Cavendish and civilised afternoon tea at Gillams Tearooms in Ulverston amongst many highlights.

Thank you Simon for the walks ‘second to none’ – Amelia, Robby & family, Glasgow

20th April, 2018

We have had a fantastic stay in this beautiful house. It has been the perfect place to celebrate Jim’s 70th birthday!

It is so well-equipped and tastefully decorated. The views are spectacular and location brilliant – what more could you ask for from a holiday cottage?

Thank you for providing such a lovely home away from home – The Baron family with lots of visitors

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

3rd September 2018

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Fantastic cottage with all mod cons, set in a great location. Great pubs, great walks all from the doorstep, just loved this place & will definitely recommend, comfy beds & spacious rooms!! – Gill

31st August, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Beautiful cottage, perfect location”

We have just returned from a week in Cartmel, staying at Weavers Cottage.

What a delightful cottage this is, you feel at home as soon as you enter the beautiful dining kitchen which is full of high end appliances and leads to the spacious conservatory dining area and sunny outside seating area.

The cottage was immaculately clean and the beds lovely and comfortable.

It is in a ideal location, being only a few minutes walk from the racecourse and the centre of Cartmel with its many pubs and cafes.

There are many lovely walks that can be done from the cottage but if you prefer to travel further afield Cartmel is also a perfect location for exploring the beautiful Lake District.

We would not hesitate to return – Gill Ellison

13th August, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent!”

We have just spent the last seven days in this delightful cottage.

From the moment we arrived all six of us fell in love with it and by the end of the stay I was imagining myself living there on a permanent basis.

The open plan kitchen was a dream and all the appliances and crockery were of a high standard.

There was no fighting for the best bedroom as each one was as beautiful as the next.

The location was great as there were so many places we found to explore, on foot and by car.

We had been advised that the mobile phone coverage was poor but Vodafone coverage in the cottage was strong and no complaints at all from anyone on the wifi which worked 100% of the time.

We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and I must say dealing with Simon has been an absolute pleasure. His one aim was ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Charcoal Cottage, thank you Simon – Jan Muir, Hampshire