15th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Stunning Large Holiday Home in Cartmel village, South Lakes”

We expected a lovely cottage from the pictures but what we got surpassed our expectations.

The property is set an an amazing location in the beautiful area of Cartmel, with every room spotless and finished to the most perfect detail.

Our party of 10 adults had such a relaxing stay, whilst our little one was captivated by the internal and external scale including the two staircases and lovely garden.

Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to use the Summer House but hope to return to do so in the future to do it justice! 

The communications from Simon were virtually instant, clear and informative.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy a break from it all – Colin 

24th September, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“The house is very impressive as you arrive and does not disappoint once inside”

What an amazing property. Lots of space for everyone so you don’t feel like you’re crammed in.

The summer house is amazing with a fabulous view over Morecambe Bay.

Cartmel as ever is a pleasure to visit and this house is the icing on the cake.

Would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone wanting quality accommodation in the Lake District – Angela

17th August, 2018

Thank you for a lovely stay in this beautiful holiday home!

It is not only comfortable and accommodating but also impeccably clean. Cartmel is a very sweet little village with some nice restaurants and gift shops.

Our favourite place for food in the area was the Priory Hotel for sandwiches made with delicious Hazelmere bread. We have also visited Grange-Over-Sands, Ulverston and we took the train and ferry over to Bowness. Ollie loved all the lovely country walks too!

Thanks again – Barbara, Ron, Chloe, Katie, Chris, Sophie & Ollie, Gateshead

3rd August, 2018

5 star Review on Trip Advisor

“Idyllic house in a beautiful and peaceful location”

This house sits high upon a hill with wonderful views across to Grange-over-Sands. There does not appear to have been any expense spared in the quality of the fixtures and fittings.

The kitchen was very well equipped with every utensil you could ask for and cooking a meal was not a chore as you have a huge space in which to work and a lovely view from the kitchen window. If I had this kitchen at home I would probably do a lot more cooking.

Outside is a marvelous summer house in which we spent some of our evenings playing board games – and there is no need to go back into the house to obtain a second bottle of wine as the summer house is equipped with a fridge!

We particularly liked the ‘upside down’ aspect of the house – the lounge, dining room and kitchen are on the 1st floor, thereby ensuring you have the best views of the surrounding countryside.

The house is full of character and the layout is very interesting – it has 2 staircases and I have to admit to almost getting lost within the first 5 minutes of arrival! There is a second small sitting room on the ground floor so that anyone can have some quiet time if they wish.

Cartmel itself is a lovely little village and I would recommend a visit to the Priory. We ate at the Pig and Whistle and the Cavendish Arms. Both served good quality food, but I would say the Cavendish has the edge.

This is a great location for exploring the Lake District and is within very easy driving distance of the South Lakes. One slight word of warning – do be careful on the narrow roads approaching the house. We were fortunate enough not to have to pass anyone as the roads are extremely quiet, however, I would advise driving slowly especially near the bends.

Simon, the owner, responded promptly to my queries and provided information about the local amenities in the surrounding areas prior to our visit.

If you choose to book this house for your holiday I cannot imagine that you would be disappointed. I rarely write reviews but I was so impressed with this house and I would highly recommend it to anyone – Jane Senior

6th July, 2018

5 star Review on Home Away

“Superb cottage in an outstanding location”

Driving up the lane to the cottage I must say it looked impressive standing out on the hill in the glorious sunshine.

This truly is a peaceful location, the views are spectacular. Internally the cottage is furnished to a very high standard throughout.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need. The two main bedrooms have large impressive ensuite bathrooms.

The summer house in the garden is fantastic and again furnished to a very high standard.

Simon provides lots of information about the local area, places to walk and eat.

The beautiful village of Cartmel is about a 20 minute walk once you have found the path through the wood. It has lots of places to eat and drink, our favorite being the Cavendish Arms.

Cartmel Hill cottage is truly a five star accommodation. Communication and customer service provided by Simon was outstanding making our holiday a very memorable one.
Thanks again Simon! we will be back. The Kirk family from Yorkshire

11th June, 2018

Beautiful cottage!

Amazing weather and great company.

Amazing weekend spent with family. We will be back again! – Nathan, Paula, Jarrad, Erin, Gill,  Mark, Gemma, John, Stef & Oliver

1st June, 2018

Splendid!

Thank you – Lindsay & family

21st May, 2018

An absolute perfect place for my 60th birthday!

Will definitely be back again – Jonathan, Matthew, Roger, Sue, Dave, Jane, Caroline, Clare and Fran and not forgetting Monty the dog

11th May, 2018

A fabulous stay in a fabulous place!

What more needs to be said?

Thank you, see you soon – Alan and Helen Robinson with Nellie the dog

30th April, 2018

Fantastic house with beautiful views.

Weather much better than forecast so took advantage of the wonderful summer house.

Would definitely stay here again – Chris, Lesley, Claire, Matt, John, Elsie, Davied & Kath and Muffin

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

11th November, 2018

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

Well you have one heck of a corker here Simon. Simply stunning!  I lost count of the number of ‘wows’ as we explored.

Each room from the entrance hallway onwards was amazing. I fell in love with the bathroom at the back and the lighting – will definitely be having a soak there this weekend. The master bedroom with the balcony looks divine too!

Very impressed with the Wi-Fi strength. We even managed to log into Netflix with no issues and the signal strength was very good.

Loads of room to put our food etc, the kitchen is fabulous with good products.

We were honoured to be your first guests. What a privilege. We wish you lots of good luck with this newest property but I have a sneaky suspicion that you won’t need it though this place is so wonderful it will sell itself! Shona & Graham Lancaster, Bolton, Lancashire

 

9th November, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

From Email:-

We had a great time – it is the first time my husband and I had been to the Lakes and we loved it.

The house was extremely comfortable and furnished/decorated to a very good standard. I fell in love with the Aga, having never cooked on one before and loved the fact that most of the house seemed to benefit from the heat generated. My husband is dreading the inevitable request!

We will almost certainly be making another trip to the area, probably at a similar time because we enjoyed the beautiful autumn colours so much and the added benefit of very few people around, although it was far from deserted.

We also spent far more time and money than was good for us in Booth’s (the North West’s equivalent to Waitrose-but much better) – Stephanie Locke

15th October, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Stunning Large Holiday Home in Cartmel village, South Lakes”

We expected a lovely cottage from the pictures but what we got surpassed our expectations.

The property is set an an amazing location in the beautiful area of Cartmel, with every room spotless and finished to the most perfect detail.

Our party of 10 adults had such a relaxing stay, whilst our little one was captivated by the internal and external scale including the two staircases and lovely garden.

Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to use the Summer House but hope to return to do so in the future to do it justice! 

The communications from Simon were virtually instant, clear and informative.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy a break from it all – Colin