11th March, 2019

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Beautiful house in a great setting”

Great place to stay for touring south Cumbria. The house is very large and plenty of bathrooms to use. Good parking for a number of cars.

I would certainly not hesitate to stay at this house again at any time of year as the views are fantastic from every lounge window – Kevin Lace

26th February, 2019

From email

We have had a wonderful time. Cartmel Hill is a superb cottage with so much space and peacefulness.

We only walked a little way because Anders (our older dog) struggles now so it was enough to go to the waterfall for him.

There are a pair of ducks that frequent the water that passes down near all the glorious crocuses and they enjoyed me feeding them.

There is everything and more within the cottage to make ones stay exceptional.

Cartmel is amazing with so much to offer and when we come again with more time to venture further we will get the chance to explore more or your recommended haunts and walks.

Our dining experience at L’Enclume was fabulous…. amazing food and wine and service.  Rogan & Co was also splendid, with so much to choose from on the menus I think you could go everyday for many weeks to taste it all !!!

We are saddened to have cut short our trip this time but have so much to look forward to later in the year – Yvette & Greg, Maxey, Cambridgeshire

28th December, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Wonderful House and Location”

We recently returned from Cartmel Hill having spent Christmas with family from the United States and Canada. The house is absolutely stunning, even better than we ever imagined.

The kitchen was very well equipped with every utensil you can think of. A pleasure to cook in.

The bedrooms all very spacious and comfortable.

Simon arranged various Christmas decorations and a tree which made the house so cosy and homely. We loved it.

It’s set in a perfect location for exploring the Lakes and even the Yorkshire Dales. Cartmel is a beautiful village especially so at Christmas with many fairy lights and trees. It was about a 20 minute walk from the house.

We ate at the Pig and Whistle and The Cavendish Arms both serving good food but our overall vote went to the Cavendish. We also had lunch in Grange over Sands at the Hazelmere.

Simon suggested some supermarkets that would deliver groceries and this worked out beautifully.

We all thoroughly enjoyed staying in Cartmel Hill and cannot recommend it enough. I only wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return – The Carruthers family, Sussex, USA & Canada

17th December, 2018

Fabulous!

The Christmas decorations were the finishing touch.

We will be back! – The Altrincham Crew

19th November, 2019

We’ve had a fabulous time in this wonderful house.

It’s so obvious how much care and attention has gone into the design and quality.

We are looking forward to coming back in 2019! – The Hinder and Hayes families

12th November, 2018

As ever, we are very, very happy with our choice of venue for our annual weekend away.

Everything is super comfy and relaxing. The only downside is that time goes quicker in Cartmel  than at home and our break is over too soon.

Thanks again Simon – The Hugh Jackman Appreciation Society

2nd November, 2018

The best holiday house we’ve been to.

An amazing house with excellent views and a house that suited all of our needs for 7 adults, 2 children, a baby and 2 dogs.

Very well equipped, warm and homely. We had a fantastic family holiday celebrating a special birthday.

We will definitely book again and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you! – The Burton & Cook families visiting from Southampton and Moldova

26th October, 2018

Such a great house and great layout! We’ve really enjoyed our week’s holiday.

After reading Simon’s recommendations, we decided to book a table at the Masons Arms at Strawberry Bank and had an amazing meal, thoroughly recommended!

We will definitely book to come here again! Thank you for a great week in a gorgeous house – The Collett family, Woking, Surrey

19th October, 2018

Another memorable holiday at Cartmel Hill with 3 generations of our family.

Good weather, stunning sunsets, and lots of miles touring this beautiful part of the world.

Thank you again Simon and team for providing such a fabulous, well equipped, comfortable and warm house for us to spend quality time with our family – The Welch family, Giffnock, Scotland

15th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Stunning Large Holiday Home in Cartmel village, South Lakes”

We expected a lovely cottage from the pictures but what we got surpassed our expectations.

The property is set an an amazing location in the beautiful area of Cartmel, with every room spotless and finished to the most perfect detail.

Our party of 10 adults had such a relaxing stay, whilst our little one was captivated by the internal and external scale including the two staircases and lovely garden.

Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to use the Summer House but hope to return to do so in the future to do it justice! 

The communications from Simon were virtually instant, clear and informative.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy a break from it all – Colin 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

11th March, 2019

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on ‘Home Away’

“Beautiful house in a great setting”

Great place to stay for touring south Cumbria. The house is very large and plenty of bathrooms to use. Good parking for a number of cars.

I would certainly not hesitate to stay at this house again at any time of year as the views are fantastic from every lounge window – Kevin Lace

4th March, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Fantastic weekend away”

We had a lovely weekend in Weavers Cottage. The cottage is in a perfect spot for exploring Cartmel and walking to the restaurants and pubs. The cottage is finished to a high standard and is nice and homely. Thank you – Emma brown

1st March, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

From Email

An outstanding week,  definitely helped by the weather.

The cottage is excellent for us as a family. I suspect you’re going to pick up a lot of repeat business for Sawmill Cottage 😊

We’ll be back again!

Gary Lowthian, Strategic Tourism Ltd. (Tourism and Hospitality Consultancy)