23rd April, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Excellent property”

We had a fantastic stay at Charcoal House and were really impressed by the property and how well-equipped it was.

The Nook is an excellent feature that allows everyone to stay connected but also provides for some independence for members of the group if required.

The lounge upstairs is very large and provides lovely views as the sun goes down.

The garden was a real bonus (we were lucky to have sunny weather all week) with good outdoor furniture provided.

Overall, very impressed and would stay there again – Andrew Collins

16th April 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Stunning place and a wonderful location”

What can I say? There aren’t many places in this world where you could drop your bags and say “that’s it, I’m moving in”, but this is one of them. It’s beautifully and thoughtfully decorated.

Each of the rooms has its own decoration style, each is lovely. The main living room is gorgeous.

It’s very well equipped, especially the kitchen which has everything you might use at home.

It is situated near a brook in a very quiet area near Coniston water. Mostly you hear sheep and running water. If you want a remote “getaway spot”, this is it. No hustle and bustle of Windemere or Ambleside, quiet evenings under starlit skies.

On a side note, we found that Morrisons (and others) deliver, so we scheduled a food and wine delivery for shortly after our arrival, which took the pressure of bringing lots of food with us or shopping immediately on arrival. This really helped in settling in.

The location is good, it’s about 20 minutes to Windemere, and about the same to Ambleside. You can get to Buttermere in about 1hr 15 or so.

Simon (the host) was great to work with on the booking, super responsive and helpful, we will definitely be booking this or one of his other properties again.

All in all, I highly recommend – Chris Harvey

16th October, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely Charcoal House”

3rd visit to 1 of Simon’s properties. Up to his high standards as always. Beautiful presented, Covid correct, beautiful spot at the base of Coniston Water. The house is in a small hamlet with lovely countryside right outside the door and local pubs, restaurants and shops nearby.

We are really looking forward to our next trip back – Glynn & Sandra Hughes, Lytham St. Annes Lancashire

2nd October, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Really enjoyable holiday”

Not the holiday we were planning for the extended family due to  Coronavirus but thank you to Holiday Cottages Cumbria for being more than flexible and supportive.

A beautiful house in a quiet location. We loved walking from the door or driving a little distance to explore.

Our two dogs loved it and the house is dog friendly. Loads of space and everything we needed was there.

I had forgotten how beautiful the Lake District is and now looking forward to future visits – Ben, Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire 

17th August, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent spacious house in idyllic setting”

Charcoal house is in a quiet area with lovely walks from the door. Coniston Water is very close. The nearby village of Coniston has lots of cafes, pubs and things to do.

The house is large and nicely decorated a mixture of the old and modern. It was very clean and we liked the balcony for a glass of wine in the evening. The beds were very comfortable.

With 2 kitchens and 3 fridges there was plenty of room for cooking. We enjoyed a barbecue in the pretty garden and there was plenty of room for 4 cars. It was a home from home – Helen Collins, Lymm, Cheshire 

14th August, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“A Golden Week”

As a Golden Wedding treat six of us visited Charcoal House for a week in August.

What a golden week it was. Wall to wall sunshine for the whole of our stay in the excellent Charcoal House. The whole house is beautifully presented, equipped and so convenient for a relaxing holiday.

We had two boys under seven in our party and they enjoyed the garden and the surroundings of the house. As the Grandparents, we enjoyed “The Nook”, a quiet retreat from the rest of our party!

All in all a superb place to stay! Highly recommend a visit – Sandra

13th July, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Great house and location”

Have just spent ten days at Charcoal House and had a great time. Ideal location for cycling, walking and visiting lakes and fells.

The house is beautifully presented with spacious accommodation. Loved cooking on the Aga which keeps the house warm and dry especially when wet! The ‘Nook’ on the ground floor is ideal for the older generation!

Enjoy! – Andrew & Teresa, Berkshire

22nd February, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful well-equipped house”

We arrived at Charcoal House at the height of storm Dennis to find a beautiful, fully equipped, comfortable and highly efficient house.

The eight of us, two couples, another daughter and her three children, regularly go out once a year for a family get-together. This was undoubtedly the best house we have ever rented for short term stay.

Well situated with a superb view of river Crake, the house was warm, beautifully furnished and with every appliance you could wish for.

The annex, fully integrated into the main house, could also act as a separate flat, with its own kitchen, fridge, dishwasher, shower and toilet. Strongly recommended. We will return – Mohsen, London

14th February, 2020

A beautiful house in a beautiful location. The perfect place for a family reunion.

Nice walks and a cosy and comfortable house to return to.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Thank you – The Findlay’s & De Rosa’s

22nd November, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Warm and Comfortable Charcoal House”

We were three couples of retired, old friends who get together once a year. Charcoal House was just right for our needs. A warm and inviting home from home. Well equipped for storing food and cooking meals. Nice big comfortable beds and three bath/shower rooms.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay – Geoffrey