3rd June, 2022

Superb holiday cottage – so well equipped.

Beds were very comfy and we loved the Aga.

Perfect location for exploring. The Blacksmiths Arms at Broughton Mills is fab for food and you must go to Bakehouse Born & Bread in Greenodd for brunch.

We would all love to come back.

Grandma loved ‘The Nook’.

Perfect week with perfect weather – no need to go abroad!  – Carol, Jason, Adam, Daniel, Grandma & Monty the woof – Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

And, from email:-

“You can tell all your properties are really well managed by yourself. Your attention to detail is second to none. We’ve stayed at many holiday cottages in the UK but this was definitely the best!” – Carol Hartley – Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

16th May, 2022

Had a wonderful weekend here celebrating my mum’s 60th birthday.

The house was brilliant and the location near Coniston Water was awesome.

Thank you  – Malcolm Turner, Morecambe, Lancashire

21st February, 2022

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful home, perfect family getaway”

As soon as we arrived we knew we’d made the right choice, picking Charcoal House as our holiday home in the lakes. The house is beautifully presented and really well equipped.

We went as an extended family, my husband, son and dog, my parents and my sister and her partner. The size was great, the rooms were all fab and the nook was that extra wow- perfect for my parents to have their own little area to escape too (breaks are always needed when there is a 2 year old and a large dog around ha!).

Location is brilliant, lots of local walks near and neighbouring towns a short drive away. We went into Ulverston a few times for lunch and an explore, as well as Ambleside.

The weather was not on our side so we didn’t get to do the walks we had planned to, but we would be more than happy to return again perhaps in the warmer months and will recommend Charcoal House to friends.

Thank you to Simon for being continuously helpful and available if we had any questions – Hannah

28th January, 2022

From Email:-

“It was perfect.  A great week enjoyed by all and we’ll definitely stay again. Really nice place you have there.”

Richard

21st of December, 2021

From Email

“Good morning Simon,

On behalf of my wife, son, his wife and myself, I just wanted to personally thank you so much for allowing us all the absolute pleasure of staying at Charcoal House on our pre-Christmas holiday. The house, its facilities, lovely decor throughout and the wonderful location have all contributed to our expectations being overwhelmingly exceeded.

We have been staying in the Lakes for the past 12 years in hotels and cottages and can honestly say that whilst we have enjoyed some lovely holidays, no accommodation has ever come close to Charcoal House.

We leave In the morning and I can assure you that we will be returning, all being well in December 2022.

Keep up the wonderful work take care stay safe and all the very best for Christmas and the new year.

Kindest Regards Andy Martin”

13th December, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Fantastic house”

Charcoal house is gorgeous – spacious, but cosy at the same time.

The kitchen was really well equipped which really helps. All the beds were kingsize and one was even bigger, so we slept well!

It rained a fair bit over the weekend, so we didn’t see any views, which was a shame, but we enjoyed ourselves despite this.

It would have been perfect if the pub had been a bit nearer 😀 – Theresa

13th August, 2021

From Email:-

We had the most amazing time staying in Charcoal House and I have to say that the accommodation exceeded all expectations. It is a truly wonderful cottage, well-appointed, well equipped and very comfortable. We all loved the way it was furnished and decorated.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage or another through Holiday Cottages Cumbria, or to book it again myself. The service you provided throughout was excellent.

Thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

Sue Byron (Bromley, Kent) 

25th June, 2021

We had a great time at Charcoal House, helped by a week of good weather which allowed us to spend a significant amount of time outdoors in the garden and going for walks.

The house was lovely and we appreciated the change of location from our previous stays at Cartmel Hill. The house was spotless and had everything that we could need for an enjoyable stay.

Thanks to you and your team for taking the time and effort to ensure that stays in the properties that you manage are so enjoyable – Guy Bellini, Leeds

23rd April, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Excellent property”

We had a fantastic stay at Charcoal House and were really impressed by the property and how well-equipped it was.

The Nook is an excellent feature that allows everyone to stay connected but also provides for some independence for members of the group if required.

The lounge upstairs is very large and provides lovely views as the sun goes down.

The garden was a real bonus (we were lucky to have sunny weather all week) with good outdoor furniture provided.

Overall, very impressed and would stay there again – Andrew Collins

16th April 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Stunning place and a wonderful location”

What can I say? There aren’t many places in this world where you could drop your bags and say “that’s it, I’m moving in”, but this is one of them. It’s beautifully and thoughtfully decorated.

Each of the rooms has its own decoration style, each is lovely. The main living room is gorgeous.

It’s very well equipped, especially the kitchen which has everything you might use at home.

It is situated near a brook in a very quiet area near Coniston water. Mostly you hear sheep and running water. If you want a remote “getaway spot”, this is it. No hustle and bustle of Windemere or Ambleside, quiet evenings under starlit skies.

On a side note, we found that Morrisons (and others) deliver, so we scheduled a food and wine delivery for shortly after our arrival, which took the pressure of bringing lots of food with us or shopping immediately on arrival. This really helped in settling in.

The location is good, it’s about 20 minutes to Windemere, and about the same to Ambleside. You can get to Buttermere in about 1hr 15 or so.

Simon (the host) was great to work with on the booking, super responsive and helpful, we will definitely be booking this or one of his other properties again.

All in all, I highly recommend – Chris Harvey