21st of December, 2021

From Email

“Good morning Simon,

On behalf of my wife, son, his wife and myself, I just wanted to personally thank you so much for allowing us all the absolute pleasure of staying at Charcoal House on our pre-Christmas holiday. The house, its facilities, lovely decor throughout and the wonderful location have all contributed to our expectations being overwhelmingly exceeded.

We have been staying in the Lakes for the past 12 years in hotels and cottages and can honestly say that whilst we have enjoyed some lovely holidays, no accommodation has ever come close to Charcoal House.

We leave In the morning and I can assure you that we will be returning, all being well in December 2022.

Keep up the wonderful work take care stay safe and all the very best for Christmas and the new year.

Kindest Regards Andy Martin”

13th December, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Fantastic house”

Charcoal house is gorgeous – spacious, but cosy at the same time.

The kitchen was really well equipped which really helps. All the beds were kingsize and one was even bigger, so we slept well!

It rained a fair bit over the weekend, so we didn’t see any views, which was a shame, but we enjoyed ourselves despite this.

It would have been perfect if the pub had been a bit nearer 😀 – Theresa

13th August, 2021

From Email:-

We had the most amazing time staying in Charcoal House and I have to say that the accommodation exceeded all expectations. It is a truly wonderful cottage, well-appointed, well equipped and very comfortable. We all loved the way it was furnished and decorated.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage or another through Holiday Cottages Cumbria, or to book it again myself. The service you provided throughout was excellent.

Thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

Sue Byron (Bromley, Kent) 

25th June, 2021

We had a great time at Charcoal House, helped by a week of good weather which allowed us to spend a significant amount of time outdoors in the garden and going for walks.

The house was lovely and we appreciated the change of location from our previous stays at Cartmel Hill. The house was spotless and had everything that we could need for an enjoyable stay.

Thanks to you and your team for taking the time and effort to ensure that stays in the properties that you manage are so enjoyable – Guy Bellini, Leeds

23rd April, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Excellent property”

We had a fantastic stay at Charcoal House and were really impressed by the property and how well-equipped it was.

The Nook is an excellent feature that allows everyone to stay connected but also provides for some independence for members of the group if required.

The lounge upstairs is very large and provides lovely views as the sun goes down.

The garden was a real bonus (we were lucky to have sunny weather all week) with good outdoor furniture provided.

Overall, very impressed and would stay there again – Andrew Collins

16th April 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Stunning place and a wonderful location”

What can I say? There aren’t many places in this world where you could drop your bags and say “that’s it, I’m moving in”, but this is one of them. It’s beautifully and thoughtfully decorated.

Each of the rooms has its own decoration style, each is lovely. The main living room is gorgeous.

It’s very well equipped, especially the kitchen which has everything you might use at home.

It is situated near a brook in a very quiet area near Coniston water. Mostly you hear sheep and running water. If you want a remote “getaway spot”, this is it. No hustle and bustle of Windemere or Ambleside, quiet evenings under starlit skies.

On a side note, we found that Morrisons (and others) deliver, so we scheduled a food and wine delivery for shortly after our arrival, which took the pressure of bringing lots of food with us or shopping immediately on arrival. This really helped in settling in.

The location is good, it’s about 20 minutes to Windemere, and about the same to Ambleside. You can get to Buttermere in about 1hr 15 or so.

Simon (the host) was great to work with on the booking, super responsive and helpful, we will definitely be booking this or one of his other properties again.

All in all, I highly recommend – Chris Harvey

16th October, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely Charcoal House”

3rd visit to 1 of Simon’s properties. Up to his high standards as always. Beautiful presented, Covid correct, beautiful spot at the base of Coniston Water. The house is in a small hamlet with lovely countryside right outside the door and local pubs, restaurants and shops nearby.

We are really looking forward to our next trip back – Glynn & Sandra Hughes, Lytham St. Annes Lancashire

2nd October, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Really enjoyable holiday”

Not the holiday we were planning for the extended family due to  Coronavirus but thank you to Holiday Cottages Cumbria for being more than flexible and supportive.

A beautiful house in a quiet location. We loved walking from the door or driving a little distance to explore.

Our two dogs loved it and the house is dog friendly. Loads of space and everything we needed was there.

I had forgotten how beautiful the Lake District is and now looking forward to future visits – Ben, Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire 

17th August, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent spacious house in idyllic setting”

Charcoal house is in a quiet area with lovely walks from the door. Coniston Water is very close. The nearby village of Coniston has lots of cafes, pubs and things to do.

The house is large and nicely decorated a mixture of the old and modern. It was very clean and we liked the balcony for a glass of wine in the evening. The beds were very comfortable.

With 2 kitchens and 3 fridges there was plenty of room for cooking. We enjoyed a barbecue in the pretty garden and there was plenty of room for 4 cars. It was a home from home – Helen Collins, Lymm, Cheshire 

14th August, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“A Golden Week”

As a Golden Wedding treat six of us visited Charcoal House for a week in August.

What a golden week it was. Wall to wall sunshine for the whole of our stay in the excellent Charcoal House. The whole house is beautifully presented, equipped and so convenient for a relaxing holiday.

We had two boys under seven in our party and they enjoyed the garden and the surroundings of the house. As the Grandparents, we enjoyed “The Nook”, a quiet retreat from the rest of our party!

All in all a superb place to stay! Highly recommend a visit – Sandra