16th January, 2023

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing cottage in an ideal location”

A group of 7 visited for my wife’s 50th birthday celebrations.

The cottage was furnished to a very high standard with extremely comfy beds and excellent en-suite facilities.

The living area and kitchen were both very large and could easily accommodate 8 guests. Both have log burners which kept the cottage very warm and cosy.

Although we didn’t use them due to the time of year, the garden and veranda from the master bedroom are an added bonus for anyone visiting in the warmer months.

The cottage is in a lovely remote location overlooking the river but is within walking distance of Coniston water. There are also a number of larger towns that are only a fairly short distance by car (Ulverston, Bowness etc).

We would definitely hope to return in the future – Craig Copeland, Knypersley,  Staffordshire

2nd January, 2023

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“New Year 2022 at Sawmill”

A fantastic few days at Sawmill for New Year. This is a gorgeous, luxuriously furnished property in a great location near Coniston.

We were a party of 8 and the 4 ensuite bedrooms were great. Comfortable beds and very nicely appointed bathrooms gave us all some privacy whilst the main lounge and dining areas seat 8 people comfortably.

We had 2 dogs with us and the weather wasn’t kind to us, so the doggy shower room just as you come in the front door was a godsend as we were keen to make sure the dogs were clean before they were allowed in the cottage.

All in all a fabulous stay in a great location and I would highly recommend this cottage – Claire, Peterlee, Co Durham

11th November, 2022

From email:-

Hi Simon,

You have spoilt any other cottage stays we will have as nothing can live up to Sawmill Cottage.

Thank you,

Peter Jagger (from Batley West Yorkshire)

24th June 2022

From email:-

Hi Simon,

We had a really good time, the weather helped, with the river at the end of the garden being a really beautiful feature of this cottage.

We also tried some of your restaurant suggestions, with the Manor House and Base (the taster menu is really nice) being our favourites.

The BBQ and outdoor dining are also a nice touch.

As well as walking in the area, we had a couple of enjoyable sessions kayaking/canoeing on Coniston.

I’ve no doubt that we’ll be back again.

Cheers, Paul (from Canterbury, Kent)

17th June, 2022

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Idyllic few days”

First time visit for us. We booked the cottage for ourselves but then invited our friends to join us.

We arrived in sunshine and it pretty much stayed with us, bonus.

As soon as you open the cottage door you are met with spacious luxury and comfortable furnishings, quality fixtures and fittings in the kitchen and bathrooms.

The cottage for us as four friends was perfect as it allowed us all to have our own space as the bedrooms are in two separate sections of the cottage.

The setting is idyllic and so wonderful to sit in the sun at the bottom of the beautiful garden by the river just listening to the water and watching the different birds.

The large table on the decking is equally great for evening drinks in the sun.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the whole place is obviously maintained to a very high standard.

My husband and myself particularly enjoyed a late night drink on the balcony just absorbing the peace and the night sky. I thoroughly recommend this cottage and it’s owner and hope to return in the future – Jane Robertson – South Anston, Sheffield, South Yorkshire

13th June, 2022

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Simply Perfect”

First time at this cottage but not the first booking with Simon. Perfect location if you want peace and tranquillity with lots of space and a stunning garden with direct access to the river Crake. High-end fixtures and fittings. Everything you could ask for if you want a family or extended friends break away.

Within 15 mins of Coniston village for walks etc. and only 5-6 minutes drive to the southern shoreline of the lake (Coniston Water) if you want to use that, which we did for kayaking swimming and boarding – Kevin Horsley, Blyth, Northumberland  

 

30th May, 2022

Very comfortable cottage for our family get-together.

Lovely to hear and sit by the river.

We enjoyed the patio area for outdoor eating.

A very enjoyable stay – The Sackett family – Chester

27th May, 2022

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic holiday cottage”

We have had a great week. Lovely cottage immaculate and very well presented.

Grandkids loved the garden and stream and had a lovely time.

Lots to do and see in the surrounding area. We had visits every day from the Dipper on the balcony.

Will definitely be back. Highly recommend – Sophie Grant, Gloucester

9th May, 2022

From email:-

“We had a great short break at Sawmill cottage, thank you. We found it very comfortable and well equipped, all to a very high standard. It’s clear that a lot of thought had gone into everything.

We hope to return again” – Andrew Radcliffe, Inch, Aberdeenshire

29th April, 2022

We’ve had a lovely stay! Sitting by the river with a brew and a bacon butty was dreamy!

Beautiful cottage in the most peaceful setting. Hope we can return. Thank you xx – Lynda, Johnny, Tracey, Keith, Ruby, Gerrard, Becca & Michael – Ormskirk, Lancashire