27th August, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

Stayed in Sawmill Cottage through Simon at Holiday cottages Cumbria in August with my family and sister.

We were totally overwhelmed by the beauty of this accommodation. The cottage is set in beautiful surroundings with a private garden leading to a river which can be viewed from one of the master bedrooms.

All bedrooms are double with en-suites accommodating older children if necessary.

The cottage is beautiful and roomy with great character throughout. Ideally located close to Coniston, Kendal, Windermere, Ambleside and Keswick and many other places.

We would definitely recommend and be returning !! Beautiful!! – Tracie Francis, Chilton Trinity, Somerset

23rd July, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on VRBO

“Beautiful cottage in a gorgeous location by the stream”

The cottage was beautiful. The rooms are especially beautiful and modern, each with their own bathroom. The bedroom on the top floor is ideal for those who have a child staying with them.

On arrival, the cottage was exceptionally clean and tidy, beds all well made and presentable and overall all well kept. We would recommend this to others and definitely keen to come again – Emma

28th June, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent property – a home from home”

This was our second time in one of Simon’s cottages and we were delighted with it.

The cottage was in a beautiful location with a stream at the end of the garden. The property was clean and spacious with everything you could need provided.

We had a great family BBQ on the terrace. Coniston Water is nearby and there are plenty of walks in the locality.

We had an evening meal at The Manor House in Oxen Park. The meal was excellent.

All in all a wonderful break. We would love to return – Helen Collins, Lymm, Cheshire

28th May, 2021

From Email

Hi Simon,

As our week in Sawmill Cottage draws regrettably to a close, I email to thank you for another superb break in an outstanding location.

Thank you also for the way that Sawmill Cottage was prepared for our arrival.  We thought the place genuinely immaculate from a cleanliness perspective.  Any concerns that we might have had on Covid 19 issues were allayed instantly.

We were also really impressed with the cottage improvement work that has taken place since our last visit.  It presents fabulously.

We have had a great time despite not enjoying the best of weather.  That didn’t dampen our spirits and we were able to swing through Cartmel last Sunday after an excellent visit to Grange over Sands.  Today, however, has been exceptional and we achieved a high walk up Helvellyn, which was absolutely superb in outstanding visibility conditions.

We’re already starting to look at dates for next year!

Best of luck for the remainder of this season.  I’d be really happy to do a review and cover the brilliant Covid 19 mitigations that you have in place.

All the very best

Phil & Lorraine (Tavistock Devon)

30th April, 2021

Lovely cottage. The birdsong and flowing river sounds were wonderful to wake up to.

Saw a deer drinking from the river 1 morning.

Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing stay – The D’Cruz family

19th April, 2021

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Utterly beautiful”

What a find not only Sawmill Cottage but Holiday Cottages Cumbria was.

Simon’s communication from the very start has been second to none even during such a volatile time.

The cottage is even prettier than the pictures. Everything is finished to an incredibly high standard, the kitchen is a dream with unusually high quality appliances – we took Simon’s advice on booking a private chef and even he commented on it!

Bedrooms are all really individual, bedlinen is beautiful quality and the garden is stunning.

We loved sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and starting the day with a cuppa on the bench near the river. If you like wildlife, an early rise might reward you with wild deer drinking from the river!

Cleanliness was outstanding. It was as if we were the first people to be in there.

A perfect stay from start to finish. We will be back! – “The Barrow Nookers”, Lancashire 

30th December, 2020

From email

“Hi Simon,

As expected we have had the most amazing few days walking, non more so than yesterday over Brown Pike and Dow Crag and today doing a circular round Wast Water. The views from Whin Rigg and Illgill Head were just amazing.

Thanks also for the heads up about the Manor House Inn at Oxen Park (1 hours walk or 11 minutes drive). The food was just divine!!!

Very much looking forward to our next adventure.

Hopefully the lakes will come out of tier 4 soon and you’ll be back in business.

Very best wishes for 2021

Cheers

Graham

(Tier 2)

27th September, 2020

Another fantastic stay here. Brilliant location.

Love having a cuppa in the morning on the bench outside (by the river).

Lovely weekend – The Holden family, Ormskirk, Lancashire

21st September, 2020

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Brilliant pet-friendly cottage!”

We had a fantastic stay. Great family-friendly cottage or for a group of friends.

The cottage was extremely clean, well-stocked for self-catering (plates/glasses/pots/pans etc). We enjoyed the attention to detail for small things, like a designated dog shower! Will most definitely be back and look forward to checking out Simons’s other properties in the local area – Hannah McElnea

18th September 2020

Another amazing stay in one of Simon’s fantastic cottages.

Fab location and the weather was unbelievable! 23c every day!

Enjoyed our wine and gin in the garden each day – We will be back again very soon 😉– The Banks family and Ernie the dog, Newcastle-upon-Tyne