20th October, 2017

What a lovely cottage!

A great wee break. Will recommend and return. – Cecilia, Gordon, Finlay & Buddy the dog

11th October, 2017

Lovely, cosy cottage.

Perfect for a weekend break. Will definitely book again if in the area. Thank you. – The McDonald family, Northumberland

1st September, 2017

We had a great time!

We have really enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage and visited lots of places. We love the goose lamp. Thank you. – Sheila, Tom & Jess the dog, Warwickshire

25th August, 2017

We booked this cottage again for 11 nights, our sixth time here and each time it gets better and better! Just love everything about this hideaway gem.

We love the goose lamp and log burner – makes it feel like home!

We have explored some beautiful amazing places yet again! We have visited Keswick which has quaint little shops and a lovely fish and chip shop too! We visited Cartmel which is a 30 minute walk from the cottage where myself and daughter had pre-booked some beauty treatments in Park Lane – would recommend. The facial was the best I’ve had. We looked around and had food and drink in the Royal Oak and enjoyed it. We also went on the train at Haverthwaite and got the boat at Lakeside to Ambleside. This was such an experience and one we will be doing again, loved every minute of it! Ambleside is one of our favourites with quaint shops and nice village pubs. We visited Coniston Copper Mines which was a lovely easy walk up and some breath-taking sights. On the way home, we visited Cowshed ice cream outside Ulverston – amazing ice creams and reasonably priced.

The Buddhist temple going towards Ulverston is a nice place to walk around. Nice cafe and gift shop. Had a lovely two mile walk to Grange and sat in a lovely pub overlooking the bay, stocked up on supplies.

We drove to Ullswater and had a lovely walk up to Aira Force waterfalls again, We took a picnic and the whole walk is approximately three hours, it’s so beautiful and a lovely experience. On the way home, we stopped at Glenridding – oh my very isolated – but a nice walk round. We also went to Brockhole on Windermere where my husband and daughter experienced the Treetop Trek, they loved it. There are also beautiful grounds to walk around. It is situated right on Lake Windermere I would advise booking before you go.

We discovered lots of new walks here locally (Flookburgh, Cark, and Cartmel).

We are going to aroma Indian curry tonight which is our last night and looking forward to that.

Had a wonderful time here. Until next time… Thanks Simon and the team for another excellent holiday. – Stuart, Adele & Madalyn McKay and Romeo & Rufus the dogs

23rd June, 2017

Thank you again for lending us your lovely cottage.

The weather has been absolutely fantastic and a good time had by all!! – Loraine McAleese, Peterculter, Aberdeen

5th June, 2017

Lovely cottage in a lovely location.

Spotlessly clean with a real cosy relaxing feel. A true gem of a find and we will certainly be back! – John & Michala with Charlie the dog, West Midlands

12th May, 2017

We’ve visited The Lakes numerous times usually staying in or close to Windermere, Ambleside or Bowness but this was a last minute break and we came across Shamrock Cottage – so glad we did!

Perfect location for both coastal walks and the Lakes!

Absolutely loved everything about this cottage. I’ve got to admit I usually feel the need for a quick clean on arriving at some cottages but absolutely, not here. It was spotlessly clean, smells fab and tastefully decorated.

We walked to Humphrey Head – great views! Walked onto Grange-over-Sands along the coast and got the train back to Kents Bank. We sat in the sun on your beautiful terrace before heading to The Pheasant – very friendly staff and gorgeous meal.

The following day we started in Ambleside, Loughrigg Fell – spectacular views! Another sit on the sun terrace with a glass of wine before ordering a takeaway from Aroma in Grange-over-Sands which they delivered.

Thursday being our last full day we spent a lovely morning in Ulverston which has beautiful shops. My husband was born in Askham and bumped into family friends whilst enjoying lunch at The Farmers Inn. Late afternoon we took a stroll around Cartmel, great being able to let Ollie off his lead at the racecourse. Thanks to the glorious weather you’ve guessed it , another happy hour with a bottle of wine cheese and biscuits on your sun terrace.

We will definitely recommend to friends and family and would love to return in winter months when we could try the log burner and look over snowy fields from the terrace with mulled wine.

Thanks Simon, your cottage certainly ticks every box. Olly loved it too – totally exhausted every evening. – Cheryl, Carl & Olly the dog, Runcorn

5th May, 2017

Great few days away from it all.

The weather has been brilliant. Very useful to have the train so close too as went to Arnside calling at Grange on the way back. – Helen & Peter Franklin, Sheffield

1st May, 2017

Good break away in peaceful area – cosy comfortable cottage.

Thank you, Simon, for help with booking. – Julie, Vince & Millie the dog, Rutland

21st April, 2017

We’ve all had a lovely stay.

Lots of walks and exploring with a trip to the beach and waterfalls.

A great little cottage in a lovely area. – Shawn, Michelle & Xandar

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

10th November, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

What a lovely place to stay. We’ve really enjoyed our stay at Charcoal House-very homely and welcoming.

We had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful lakes and surrounding area. Thank you! – Paul & Sharon Smith, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

3rd Novemeber, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Fantatsic few days in the Lakes”

Charcoal house was a fantastic base for our break in the lakes, even better than the photographs.

The house is filled with quality furnishing and finishes, with everything you can think of at hand.

The walk into the woods with the dog was a definite highlight.

We would thoroughly recommend the house, all details and information provided were spot on – David Page,  East Cottingwith, Yorkshire

20th October, 2017

Shamrock Cottage Reviews

What a lovely cottage!

A great wee break. Will recommend and return. – Cecilia, Gordon, Finlay & Buddy the dog

twittername