Please note: We only started renting out Sawmill Cottage in late 2018, hence the reason there's not many reviews.

18th February, 2019

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires 🔥 – Catherine

2nd January, 2019

What an amazing stay we’ve had in such a beautiful cottage. It is absolutely stunning! Wow! everything we could ever need is here!

We feel so lucky to have started 2019 here and hope to come back soon – The Berry family, Manchester

31st December, 2018

Beautiful house and amazing scenery.

The cottage is to a fantastic standard which made a stay even better.

My family enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be back soon.

Thank you – The Holden’s, Liverpool

28th December, 2018

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful cottage with glorious views”

We had a great time in Sawmill Cottage, with the glorious views from the master bedroom and the beautiful lounge area.

The location was perfect with walks of different difficulties right from the front door, and Simon even arranged decent weather for us!

Highly recommended… Stephen, Susan & family

16th December, 2018

Beautiful home. We’ll definitely be back.

Simon was super helpful.

Thank you – The Makin’s, Kingsmead, Cheshire

3rd December, 2018

Amazing weekend in a beautiful property in a lovely location.

Simon has been great. He was always at the other end of the phone with answers to any questions we had.

It will be nice to book again in the summer when we can make the most of what the cottage has to offer. Thank you ever so much again – Lauren, Gareth, kids & dogs, Whitby North Yorkshire

26th November, 2018

Fantastic weekend in this, the 3rd of Simon’s properties we’ve stayed at.  As ever, the attention to detail is stunning, as is the location!

What a fabulous visit and stay! We wouldn’t use anybody other than Simon whenever we stay in the Lake District.

Thanks ever so much – The Bywater family, Lancashire

23rd November, 2018

It’s a really well located property with great facilities and is extremely comfortably appointed to a very high standard.

Great rooms, excellent bathrooms and superb kitchen.

The access to and views of the river make this a magical place to stay, Les Grant, Morpeth, Northumberland (another of our regular guests)

11th November, 2018

From Email:-

Well you have one heck of a corker here Simon. Simply stunning!  I lost count of the number of ‘wows’ as we explored.

Each room from the entrance hallway onwards was amazing. I fell in love with the bathroom at the back and the lighting – will definitely be having a soak there this weekend. The master bedroom with the balcony looks divine too!

Very impressed with the Wi-Fi strength. We even managed to log into Netflix with no issues and the signal strength was very good.

Loads of room to put our food etc, the kitchen is fabulous with good products.

We were honoured to be your first guests. What a privilege. We wish you lots of good luck with this newest property but I have a sneaky suspicion that you won’t need it though this place is so wonderful it will sell itself! Shona & Graham Lancaster, Bolton, Lancashire

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

18th February, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires 🔥 – Catherine

28th January,

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham