Please note: We only started renting out Sawmill Cottage in late 2018, hence the reason there's not many reviews.

1st March, 2019

From Email

An outstanding week,  definitely helped by the weather.

The cottage is excellent for us as a family. I suspect you’re going to pick up a lot of repeat business for Sawmill Cottage 😊

We’ll be back again!

Gary Lowthian, Strategic Tourism Ltd. (Tourism and Hospitality Consultancy) 

18th February, 2019

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires 🔥 – Catherine

2nd January, 2019

What an amazing stay we’ve had in such a beautiful cottage. It is absolutely stunning! Wow! everything we could ever need is here!

We feel so lucky to have started 2019 here and hope to come back soon – The Berry family, Manchester

31st December, 2018

Beautiful house and amazing scenery.

The cottage is to a fantastic standard which made a stay even better.

My family enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be back soon.

Thank you – The Holden’s, Liverpool

28th December, 2018

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful cottage with glorious views”

We had a great time in Sawmill Cottage, with the glorious views from the master bedroom and the beautiful lounge area.

The location was perfect with walks of different difficulties right from the front door, and Simon even arranged decent weather for us!

Highly recommended… Stephen, Susan & family

16th December, 2018

Beautiful home. We’ll definitely be back.

Simon was super helpful.

Thank you – The Makin’s, Kingsmead, Cheshire

3rd December, 2018

Amazing weekend in a beautiful property in a lovely location.

Simon has been great. He was always at the other end of the phone with answers to any questions we had.

It will be nice to book again in the summer when we can make the most of what the cottage has to offer. Thank you ever so much again – Lauren, Gareth, kids & dogs, Whitby North Yorkshire

26th November, 2018

Fantastic weekend in this, the 3rd of Simon’s properties we’ve stayed at.  As ever, the attention to detail is stunning, as is the location!

What a fabulous visit and stay! We wouldn’t use anybody other than Simon whenever we stay in the Lake District.

Thanks ever so much – The Bywater family, Lancashire

23rd November, 2018

It’s a really well located property with great facilities and is extremely comfortably appointed to a very high standard.

Great rooms, excellent bathrooms and superb kitchen.

The access to and views of the river make this a magical place to stay, Les Grant, Morpeth, Northumberland (another of our regular guests)

11th November, 2018

From Email:-

Well you have one heck of a corker here Simon. Simply stunning!  I lost count of the number of ‘wows’ as we explored.

Each room from the entrance hallway onwards was amazing. I fell in love with the bathroom at the back and the lighting – will definitely be having a soak there this weekend. The master bedroom with the balcony looks divine too!

Very impressed with the Wi-Fi strength. We even managed to log into Netflix with no issues and the signal strength was very good.

Loads of room to put our food etc, the kitchen is fabulous with good products.

We were honoured to be your first guests. What a privilege. We wish you lots of good luck with this newest property but I have a sneaky suspicion that you won’t need it though this place is so wonderful it will sell itself! Shona & Graham Lancaster, Bolton, Lancashire

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

8th April, 2019

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Weekend away”

What a lovely cottage in an amazing part of the world. The cottage had everything we needed.

The village of Cark is very friendly for both children and dogs. There is a lovely safe walk to Cartmel which was enjoyed by all of us. Will defo return 🤗 – Sara, Burnley

31st March, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely comfortable Cottage!!”

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely comfortable cottage. Cottage is pet friendly too and our pet dog “George” really enjoyed his stay and was very relaxed staying in the cottage.

We loved the whole layout and it was so well equipped. Spotless bed linen and towels also.The real log fireplace was really cosy to light on an evening after enjoyable long /short walks.

We really enjoyed looking up at the star filled sky on a clear night from the cottage garden. It’s in such a lovely peaceful place. It’s in a great location too. Lovely friendly pub “The Engine Inn” is less than 2 minutes walk away. Handy grocery shop/general store “Londis” is also less than 2 minutes away.

Simon has thought of everything and his recommended walks written in the guest book were a great help.

We will highly recommend staying in your cottages to family/friends/colleagues. Thank you!! – Liza

22nd March, 2019

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on ‘Trip Advisor’

“Amazing house!”

We can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed Cartmel Hill.

The house is beautiful, even nicer than expected, so spacious. Lots of room for our group of 7, so nice to have so many bathrooms and living space to spread out when we wanted.

The summer house is awesome, what a wonderful place to have a glass of wine and play some games at night.

Cartmel village is wonderful, so many friendly people and great shops and restaurants.

We loved taking the public footpaths through the forest to get to the village. Also enjoyed exploring the footpaths up the hill from the house – what views!!

Simon is a great host, house was easy to find thanks to his directions. We hope to come back to Cartmel one day and wouldn’t hesitate to book Cartmel Hill again. Thanks Simon! – Gillian Pettersen – Prince George, British Columbia, Canada