Please note: We only started renting out Sawmill Cottage in late 2018, hence the reason there's not many reviews.

28th June, 2019

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Superb Lake District Rental Property”

A superbly appointed and fully kitted out holiday rental.  Sawmill Cottage is ideally located as a base from which to explore the Lake District.

The accurate and highly comprehensive website description completely underplays the sheer comfort and magnificent setting of the property. It was a genuine joy to return to Sawmill Cottage after full days of exploration of the stunning local environment.

Enjoying outstanding weather, we were able to take full benefit of the outside riverside dining area and we found no incentive sufficient to tempt us away from the cottage in the evening.

Situated in a stunning and really peaceful location and welcoming visitors with dogs, the exceptionally luxurious and extremely comfortable Sawmill Cottage comes very highly recommended and is a holiday rental property that we hope to return to very soon – Philip Burrell, Tavistock, Devon

3rd May, 2019

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely Cottage in a Perfect Location”

Stayed at Sawmill Cottage last week for a family reunion and we all loved it.

Great having the four en-suite bedrooms which are all a good size and nice big showers too, not to mention the beds which were soooo comfy.

The cottage is nice and spacious so eight of us didn’t feel crowded at all. It has recently been refurbished so has nice modern appliances and fittings yet manages to keep its old cottage feeling Lovely patio/garden area with a bench perfect for relaxing and looking out for the dippers and wagtails sitting on the rocks in the river.

Simon was extremely helpful, always quickly responding to any queries that we had.

We would definitely stay here again but my only concern about giving it a glowing review is that it’s going to be fully booked up and we may not be able to get in ? – John Mason, Lichfield Staffordshire

19th April, 2019

From Email

Hi Simon,

We had a great time, what an amazing cottage and an amazing area to stay.

The cottage was great, well equipped and provided plenty of space for us all, without being on top of each other.  We did visit Rogan and Co for a meal in Cartmel, which was also lovely.

Thank you again for your clear instructions and communications, we will definitely recommend this cottage to others.

Kind regards

Rachel Squires

1st March, 2019

From Email

An outstanding week,  definitely helped by the weather.

The cottage is excellent for us as a family. I suspect you’re going to pick up a lot of repeat business for Sawmill Cottage ?

We’ll be back again!

Gary Lowthian, Strategic Tourism Ltd. (Tourism and Hospitality Consultancy) 

18th February, 2019

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires ? – Catherine

2nd January, 2019

What an amazing stay we’ve had in such a beautiful cottage. It is absolutely stunning! Wow! everything we could ever need is here!

We feel so lucky to have started 2019 here and hope to come back soon – The Berry family, Manchester

31st December, 2018

Beautiful house and amazing scenery.

The cottage is to a fantastic standard which made a stay even better.

My family enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be back soon.

Thank you – The Holden’s, Liverpool

28th December, 2018

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful cottage with glorious views”

We had a great time in Sawmill Cottage, with the glorious views from the master bedroom and the beautiful lounge area.

The location was perfect with walks of different difficulties right from the front door, and Simon even arranged decent weather for us!

Highly recommended… Stephen, Susan & family

16th December, 2018

Beautiful home. We’ll definitely be back.

Simon was super helpful.

Thank you – The Makin’s, Kingsmead, Cheshire

3rd December, 2018

Amazing weekend in a beautiful property in a lovely location.

Simon has been great. He was always at the other end of the phone with answers to any questions we had.

It will be nice to book again in the summer when we can make the most of what the cottage has to offer. Thank you ever so much again – Lauren, Gareth, kids & dogs, Whitby North Yorkshire

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

9th August, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

From Email

Hi Simon,

Just wanted to send a review of our 4 night stay at Charcoal House from the 5th of August to the 9th as I never found the time to write a review in the guest book.

The property was absolutely stunning and I must say the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in (and we’ve stopped in quite a few).

Fabulous kitchen with the Aga. The Nook was so perfect for my daughter and her boyfriend and the other bedrooms were gorgeous, beautifully decorated, comfy beds and lovely bedding.

The lounge area was excellent for chilling out in the evening for all six of us and our chocolate Labrador Mabel, who thoroughly enjoyed her stay in this lovely cottage and the surrounding areas.

Thank you so much and we will have no hesitation recommending this property to our friends and will definitely be back to this property or one of your others in the future.

Regards

Melanie Caddy

5th August, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Just home from our Friday to Monday stay. We were there as a family to celebrate a special surprise birthday treat. It was perfect, the cottage is beautiful and so well equiped to meet all of your needs. So close to the centre of the village which is also stunning.

Lots of lovely walks on the doorstep. A perfect place to relax and spend quality family time. I would not hesitate to recommend or to stay here again. Loved it – June

12th July, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Cosy country cottage”

Carree is a charming and well-equipped country cottage in South Lakeland. It’s perfect for a quiet getaway within easy walking of Holker Hall, Cartmel village and the Cartmel peninsula. It’s great whether you’re interested in gardens, gastronomy or the local bays and birdlife.

For years we’ve driven by South Lakeland and headed for the peaks. What a mistake! South Lakeland has so much to offer and is still within easy reach of Grizedale, Coniston, the Duddon valley and Windermere – Kay