27th November, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Lovely Rose Farm”

Visiting the Lakes in late November could be seen as a risky undertaking with amazingly variable weather conditions in the area but we love it and when you have a cosy warm base like Rose farm to come home to there is nothing to beat it!

We had a superb time visiting all the famous areas and really enjoyed the lovely house and its character with lots of space and areas to really chill out in.

Simon’s recommended hostelries were also superb, the George and Dragon being our firm favourite.

The location is superb with breath-taking views.

We will be visiting again.

Highly recommended  – Nick Dove   

13th November, 2017

From Email:-

We had a fantastic time at Rose Farm, old and young alike. The youngest was 19 and the oldest 80 years who was my Mother who the cottage break was a surprise for.

We didn’t really venture out for meals as Rose Farm had such fantastic cooking facilities. We just had a good old chin wag around the table, reminiscing and having a laugh.

We will all be happy to recommend your cottages because we had such a great time there.

We will certainly visit again, maybe for my Mothers 81st? Thank you from The Shadforth Clan.

6th October, 2017

From Email:-

Rose Farm is a bit special, everyone loved it.

Great walks from the front door and we went to Shap Abbey which I really enjoyed.

The in-laws were over the moon to see a red squirrel today before leaving and we seemed to have constant procession of sheep past the gate, you don’t tend to see much of that where we live!!

We finished off today with a walk up to Harter Fell from Haweswater. T-shirts up the top of Harter Fell in October!! Can’t beat it!!

Already planning next visit. Speak soon – Steven Mackell, York

2nd October, 2017

I previously visited with friends and loved it so much I came back with the family.

We love the cottage and garden. – Alison & family, Co. Durham

29th September, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Beautiful Rose Farm with Wonderful Views”

It was a joy for my wife and I to return to beautiful Rose Farm for our second holiday there this year. We were so impressed on our previous stay during the summer that we wanted to go again.

The house is well named Rose Farm as during the summer the garden was in full bloom with a fabulous variety of roses. It was a great pleasure to walk in the garden, eat outdoors, and admire the wonderful views of the surrounding area where we saw red squirrels and listened to bird song.

Our autumn visit was equally enjoyable when the house looked beautiful amoungst the glorious colours of autumn.

Rose Farm is a lovely house. Quiet and peaceful. The kitchen is very well equipped and always welcoming with a warm Aga. The spacious living room is so pleasant and relaxing with comfortable easy chairs and a cosy log fire. The bedrooms and en suites are excellent.

All of the lakes were easily accessible from the location; just a short drive away. As well as visiting the larger towns it was a pleasure to explore the small villages in the area where we found some very good places nearby to eat out, or shop.

Our thanks to Simon Cleasby who arranged our holiday for us. Simon’s excellent travel instructions, superb information folders and care helped to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable.

We look forward to our next visit!!  – Sally and Bob, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

23rd September, 2017

A lovely home in a lovely location.

All very comfortable. Simon’s recommendations were very useful and helpful. – Tom & Kathy with Tom & Nancy from U.S.A

15th September, 2017

What a fantastic house and location.

We stayed here for our 30th Anniversary and birthdays with our daughters, their partners and children and our parents.

We had a wonderful stay and lovely walks. It was great to have lovely family time in the house, kitchen and grounds.

Thank you for a great time! – The Sandelands Family, Cheshire

26th August, 2017

A very pleasant week in pleasant surroundings.

A red squirrel appeared on cue to everyone’s delight. Many good walks in good weather. – Ravine Family, Somerset/Cotswolds/Cambridge

25th July, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

Stunning! Absolutely gorgeous place to stay & relax. Totally off the beaten track! Gorgeous!

What a find! An absolutely beautiful place. Amazing views over the valley.

Lovely quirky farm house the envelopes you. Beautifully furnished, clean & well appointed. Kitchen was amazing and well appointed for. Upstairs was stunning & the gardens lovely – Michelle Mitchell

14th July, 2017

From Email:-

My wife and I would like to thank you for the excellent information and directions which you sent to us before our stay. The information most certainly enhanced our knowledge of the area, made our journey easy and helped make our holiday relaxing and enjoyable.

Would you also please thank the housekeeper who prepared the house so immaculately for our stay.

I must add that it was a joy to see the birds at the kitchen window and red squirrels on the tree using the caring feeders you provide.

Rose Farm is a very beautiful house and it was a great pleasure for us to stay there.  We hope to visit again and are sure that our friends and relative would also enjoy a holiday there sometime in the future.

Thank you once again, Simon – Robert Porteous, Killingworth, Tyne & Wear

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

15th January, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“2nd visit and we will be back”

A really excellent holiday house. Loads of old style character but with modern luxury comforts.

We had a discussion about what if anything could be improved and decided the only thing was the dribbly tea pot. On second thoughts though we loved that too! – Jude

12th January, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

 5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Escape”

Just got home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful cottage. Never written a review on trip advisor before but had to with this place as it was truly beautiful.

We’ve already been recommending to friends and family as a perfect base for visiting the rest of the lakes.

The cottage, and in particular the kitchen, were really well equipped which was great because I love cooking.

Also got to mention local bakery, Fat Flour, delicious! We made several visits!

We had our 7 month old cockapoo Walter with us too who spent many an hour snuggled up in front of the log fire, after long days spent exploring during our walks. The walk to Cartmel through the woods – approx 2 miles either way – and a day spent at Haverigg beach I think were his personal highlights during our stay. Thank you for an amazing visit – Amy Newton, Nantwich, Cheshire

15th December, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“High end property with great views”

Cartmel Hill is a spacious property with a beautiful view towards Morecambe bay capturing the sunset.

We found the house to be warm spacious and well equipped and the location great, just a 15 minute walk into the village.

Would love to return in spring/summer to make use of the wonderful summerhouse and for bird watching.

There are great walks from the doorstep, an OS map enables you to make up your own walks! Thanks to Simon and the team – Frank & Wendy Hayes, Chorley, Lancashire

twittername