Please Note: We've only started renting out Charcoal House in March 2016.

12th August, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Wonderful property in a stunning location”

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Charcoal House, which has to be the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in.

Everything about the house was perfect, so much attention to detail and as for the beds – so comfortable.

The location is so peaceful with fine walks nearby. Our highlight being the hike up the Old Man of Coniston and beyond.

We sampled many fine pubs all of which are a short drive away.

A thoroughly enjoyable week in the lakes, we will definitely be back to Charcoal House – Nick Baldwin, Uckfield, East Sussex

17th July, 2017

The house has a lot of character and is very well appointed. We really appreciated the styling and the features and it was cool watching all the baby birds in the garden from the kitchen.

Access was very easy and it was great to be able to arrive at our leisure without the need to meet someone to hand over keys. It worked really well and the information inside is very comprehensive to assist finding things to do.

The biscuits were very welcome.

Really recommend the walk to the Red Lion pub where the landlord and staff are really friendly and helpful and have good beers and good pub food. I would like to have that pub at the end of my street.

Would definitely recommend if you’re looking for a gorgeous and spacious house and lots of tranquillity in a beautiful part of the UK. – Tim Eady

2nd June, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lake District Break”

Great weeks break in the fabulous lake district with Friends, scenery breath-taking, just goes to show what the UK has to offer.

The house was exactly described, very clean and a good size for 4 adults, 3 children and a dog (with The Nook) all the facilities you need, great location to explore the surrounding areas.

PS. recommend the Blacksmiths Arms in Broughton Mills as a great cosy pub with really good food. – Nick Smith

21st April, 2017

What a wonderful cottage, perfectly appointed with everything we could possibly need and more!

Loved the views from the balcony and walks directly across the doorstep – The Damant Family

14th April, 2017

This was a family break and this was the perfect venue for the whole family to do things at their own pace from me down to my Granddaughter aged one and two dogs.

They had some great days out but had equal fun on their return to Charcoal House.

Great family cooked meals in the Aga. And then the retiring to the lounge for evening drinking and watching by the log burner.

The facilities were fantastic, we’d definitely come again 10/10 – The Simmons Family

6th April, 2017

The weather was so wonderful, only half a day of rain. The Italian member of our group was very impressed. No need to use the wood burning stove.

We really enjoyed our walk up the Old Man of Coniston and the view of him from the balcony is wonderful. The dogs have a great time, lovely walks over Bethecar Moor and Blawith Common.

Beautiful rooms in a very cosy house. We mastered the Aga during our stay and found it very useful for drying our socks on after a boggy walk.

We can’t wait to come back and explore more – The Lloyd Family

17th March, 2017

The perfect house for our fabulous family get together.

We loved the location and property and were very lucky with the weather!

Thank you for thinking of everything that makes a stay so homely, comfortable and special.

Each room was well appointed and stylish.

We look forward to returning soon – Sally, Toby and Grandies

13th March, 2017

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

22nd January, 2017

Thank you so much for a glorious few days here at Charcoal House.

From the minute we stepped foot inside this beautiful location we knew it was going to be a special place.

The cleanliness is 2nd to none and the house is furnished to an exceedingly high standard with views to die for. The location is superb too.

Simon couldn’t have done enough for us and we are already planning our next trip here in spring time. Many thanks – The Brooksy’s, Liverpool

30th December, 2016

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lakes retreat”

We had a wonderful time over Christmas at Charcoal House.

The house is really spacious and is entered through a welcoming, well-equipped kitchen with an AGA keeping it lovely, toasty and homely.

The decor in the house was the perfect blend of country comfort with contemporary colours so it appealed to all ages within our family, all of whom had a great time.

The views from the balcony off the first floor living room are great and the log burning stove in the room makes it even more cosy. We’d love to go back – Nick & Family, Bath, Somerset 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th August, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Wonderful property in a stunning location”

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Charcoal House, which has to be the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in.

Everything about the house was perfect, so much attention to detail and as for the beds – so comfortable.

The location is so peaceful with fine walks nearby. Our highlight being the hike up the Old Man of Coniston and beyond.

We sampled many fine pubs all of which are a short drive away.

A thoroughly enjoyable week in the lakes, we will definitely be back to Charcoal House – Nick Baldwin, Uckfield, East Sussex

12th August, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

“I would just like to say thank you for everything you arranged for us.

Our stay was fantastic. All of our family and guests for the week were really impressed with cottage and it’s tranquil feeling.

Should this be the standard of your other properties we will certainly be returning to one of them” – Stuart Ireland

12th August, 2017

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Hidden Gem of Cark”

We stayed in this super cottage for two weeks and really enjoyed everything it has to offer.

Lovely and clean, really good quality beds and bedding so had a excellent nights sleep and always felt well rested.

Everything you need in a cottage for the whole of your stay was provided and the kitchen is really spacious so very enjoyable to cook those lovely meals you never seem to get the time to do in your busy life.

The fact that it is pet friendly made it even better for us and it is so well situated to visit so many places, and lovely to have a warm and welcoming cottage to come back to after a busy day exploring.

Will definitely be back as even after two weeks still didn’t manage to see everything we wanted – Pam Jenkins, St. Helens

twittername