9th August, 2019

From Email

Hi Simon,

Just wanted to send a review of our 4 night stay at Charcoal House from the 5th of August to the 9th as I never found the time to write a review in the guest book.

The property was absolutely stunning and I must say the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in (and we’ve stopped in quite a few).

Fabulous kitchen with the Aga. The Nook was so perfect for my daughter and her boyfriend and the other bedrooms were gorgeous, beautifully decorated, comfy beds and lovely bedding.

The lounge area was excellent for chilling out in the evening for all six of us and our chocolate Labrador Mabel, who thoroughly enjoyed her stay in this lovely cottage and the surrounding areas.

Thank you so much and we will have no hesitation recommending this property to our friends and will definitely be back to this property or one of your others in the future.

Regards

Melanie Caddy

14th June, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing house”

We had an amazing 4 day break at this fabulous house.

Decorated to a high started the best equipped and cleanest holiday home we have rented in this country.

Extremely quiet but not too far from attractions and great places to eat. The enclosed garden was ideal for our Dog. Can’t wait to visit again – Karen Harper, Durkar, West Yorkshire,

10th June, 2019

A beautiful house, spacious, clean and a gorgeous location.

The ‘Nook’ was ideal for our elderly mum. She loved it too The Ford family,

Cheshire

21st March, 2019

From Email:-

My wife is over the moon with the house, she keeps saying it is better and cleaner than all of the non-dog friendly places we have been – Richard Blagg – Newcastle Upon Tyne

18th February, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

Fabulous house. Pristine and very warm. Impressively appointed – Chris Grant

15th February, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Spectacular home away from home”

Absolutely gorgeous, well-kept house.

Plenty of scope for scenic walks or just relaxing indoors and enjoying the views from the windows.

Felt extremely welcome and would return in a heartbeat.

All 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Could not fault the house in any way – Elaine Hill

28th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham

7th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful, exceptional comfy house”

What can I say but amazing and just what we all needed after a very busy Christmas.

My Husband, children, grandparents, grandchildren and myself stayed at Charcoal House and once again what a wonderful house it is.

The house is very spacious, comfy and very clean and made extra special with the welcoming warmth of the Aga, which we made great use of, although we did go for a lovely evening meal at The Mill in Ulverston.

The large sitting area is beautiful and the lovely balcony with its amazing view, great for spotting the local wildlife.

We stayed for 3 days at the house relaxing, walking and on the last day just spent at the lake just skimming stones, the grandchildren just loved this.

This is the 3rd property we have rented from Simon and all equally as nice. So once again thank you and can’t wait for next time – Lindsay Sandilands

28th December, 2018

A special place to spend a wonderful Christmas.

We enjoyed the Aga, the log fire, meals around the table, the Red Lion (the nearest pub just one mile away) and the Christmas tree. Thank you – The Wright family, London