21st September, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“An ideal base for exploring the Lake District”

A very well appointed rental property that offered a real home from home.

Very tastefully furnished with everything provided that might be needed.

Extremely quiet.

Ideally located for access to main routes for exploring the Lake District. Good local facilities and easy access to Ulverston for shopping requirements. Owner very attentive. Highly recommended – Phil Burrell, Wlithshire

14th September, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing 5 Star”

Wow, what an amazing place this is, the surrounding area one is of the most beautiful parts ok the UK.

The accomodation was perfect in every sense. Plentiful in space throughout, decorated in a very tasteful way with every luxury from broadband internet, smart TV, roll top bath and fantastic beds, through to Nespresso coffee machine, Le creuset kitchenware and the warming aga which I was dreading but it is so easy to use, with thoughtful instructions, I now want one in my kitchen at home (the aga is bigger than my kitchen so that isn’t happening!).

There’s plenty of books, DVDs and local information to keep you entertained, a great covered balcony with table and chairs from the upstairs living room and a beautiful view. There is even an umbrella, washing machine and separate dryer and a huge fridge freezer.

Our family, in particular my German in-laws, loved everything about it and really hope to come back, thank you so much – Robert

13th August, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent!”

We have just spent the last seven days in this delightful cottage.

From the moment we arrived all six of us fell in love with it and by the end of the stay I was imagining myself living there on a permanent basis.

The open plan kitchen was a dream and all the appliances and crockery were of a high standard.

There was no fighting for the best bedroom as each one was as beautiful as the next.

The location was great as there were so many places we found to explore, on foot and by car.

We had been advised that the mobile phone coverage was poor but Vodafone coverage in the cottage was strong and no complaints at all from anyone on the wifi which worked 100% of the time.

We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and I must say dealing with Simon has been an absolute pleasure. His one aim was ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Charcoal Cottage, thank you Simon – Jan Muir, Hampshire

11th May, 2018

Fantastic stay in this amazing cottage!

The facilities and layout were perfect for our stay and the care that has been put into the decoration of the place was really noticed.

Would recommend to all and would love to come back – Mike, Liz, Anthony, Kirsty, Nat, Tom and Hetti with dogs

7th May, 2018

Wonderful cottage!

Well-equipped, layout is great and to an excellent standard. Ideal location to tour Coniston and Windermere Lakes. Would recommend to all who ask – The Lukes

We travelled with a four-month-old to a gorgeous place!

Lovely inside and out. Loved the quality bedding. The towels felt like hotel quality.

The garden is pretty and the balcony even better.

Want to come back! – The Starrs

4th May, 2018

Beautiful cottage done very tastefully to an excellent standard.

Well-equipped with everything you could possibly want. Beds extremely comfortable and we will certainly go home well rested!

Location has been ideal for us, we’ve had great adventures and loved the village of Grasmere.

All in all we’ve had a fabulous time and will highly recommend Charcoal House.

***** from us, thank you – Tony, Anna, Christina & Hamish, Glasgow & Aberdeen

Otto the dachshund adds:

I’ve had a great time with my parents and Grandparents. My little legs had lots of big adventures and I am going to miss the warm spot beside the Aga, woof woof!

30th April, 2018

We have had a lovely long weekend at Charcoal House.

Very cute and tidy house, living room and bedrooms are a great size and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep every night.

We were lucky with the clear weather and enjoyed walks with the dog and BBQs every day.

We were celebrating an anniversary so it was great for spending time as a family and playing games. All in all a great break!

Thank you – The Meadows family

13th April, 2018

What a fabulous house to live in for a week.

We were celebrating an anniversary and birthday and generally enjoying being together.

Plenty of room, the beds are sooo comfy. Very warm. We loved the Aga and the split back door – all so traditional.

Sorry to leave – we have enjoyed getting to know this area a lot more, and reaquainting ourselves with memories of past holidays.

The Red Lion is great – very friendly and we were lucky enough to go on Thursday night for music night. A great selection of musicians playing varied music – very special (second Thursday of each month).

Thanks once again – The Bentleys

6th April, 2018

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house.

We thoroughly enjoyed getting away with the family, lots of great walking (Old Man twice)!

The house is lovely, sociable, warm(!) yet still cosy. Beds are so comfy.

A great few days. Thank you – Emma, Rob, Ben, Jess, Ad, Helen with Gracy & Toby the dogs, Didcot

23rd March, 2018

Charcoal House exceeded our expectations in every way which is really appreciated given pictures can often be deceptive and other accommodations have ended up being ‘less rather than more’.

It is so nice to come somewhere with quality furnishings, rather than cheap bare bones.

We’ve had a really lovely break in such a beautiful part of the world and the property has been very much part of the experience.

Thank you and we hope to return in the future – Darren, Stuart & Nellie, Chichester with Nathan & Matilda, Durham

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

21st September, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“An ideal base for exploring the Lake District”

A very well appointed rental property that offered a real home from home.

Very tastefully furnished with everything provided that might be needed.

Extremely quiet.

Ideally located for access to main routes for exploring the Lake District. Good local facilities and easy access to Ulverston for shopping requirements. Owner very attentive. Highly recommended – Phil Burrell, Wlithshire

14th September, 2018

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing 5 Star”

Wow, what an amazing place this is, the surrounding area one is of the most beautiful parts ok the UK.

The accomodation was perfect in every sense. Plentiful in space throughout, decorated in a very tasteful way with every luxury from broadband internet, smart TV, roll top bath and fantastic beds, through to Nespresso coffee machine, Le creuset kitchenware and the warming aga which I was dreading but it is so easy to use, with thoughtful instructions, I now want one in my kitchen at home (the aga is bigger than my kitchen so that isn’t happening!).

There’s plenty of books, DVDs and local information to keep you entertained, a great covered balcony with table and chairs from the upstairs living room and a beautiful view. There is even an umbrella, washing machine and separate dryer and a huge fridge freezer.

Our family, in particular my German in-laws, loved everything about it and really hope to come back, thank you so much – Robert

3rd September 2018

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Fantastic cottage with all mod cons, set in a great location. Great pubs, great walks all from the doorstep, just loved this place & will definitely recommend, comfy beds & spacious rooms!! – Gill