10th November, 2017

What a lovely place to stay. We’ve really enjoyed our stay at Charcoal House-very homely and welcoming.

We had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful lakes and surrounding area. Thank you! – Paul & Sharon Smith, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

3rd Novemeber, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Fantatsic few days in the Lakes”

Charcoal house was a fantastic base for our break in the lakes, even better than the photographs.

The house is filled with quality furnishing and finishes, with everything you can think of at hand.

The walk into the woods with the dog was a definite highlight.

We would thoroughly recommend the house, all details and information provided were spot on – David Page,  East Cottingwith, Yorkshire

19th October, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here in your beautiful cottage.

It is warm cosy and very well fitted out. It is a really good venue for the larger family groups as it is so welcoming as well as quiet and peaceful.

There are lots of things to do here and nice places to visit not too far away as well as good local walks.

The Church House Inn at nearby Torver is well recommended with good food ale and service.

Our daughter loved the low-level sink in the bathroom as she learned how to turn the taps on so she could play in the water. It was a delight to hear her squeal as she would run up and down the hallway.

We had a great week thank you and will definitely be coming back for another lovely family holiday. – Philip, Judith, Meg, Matt & Evie

6th October, 2017

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here – despite the presence of our two tiny children!

This is the perfect base to explore the delights of South Lakeland, as well as being a fantastic place in its own right. We will be telling all our friends about it!

Many thanks for a perfect few days. – Mike, Ellie, Arthur & Maud, Oxford

4th October, 2017

A wonderful place to stay coupled with amazing scenery and places to visit made it an excellent holiday! – Trevor & Angela Peters

29th September, 2017

We’ve all been so comfortable and warm here! Lovely place – and beautiful decoration.

A great base for us to get together with our friends and enjoy the beautiful scenery and walks.

Will be recommending to friends! – Thank you. Janet, Tony, Pete, Lesley, David, Milly & Harry

23rd September, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Outstanding”

We had a great four weeks stay in this wonderful, well-equipped and very spacious country house.

We would come back any time, highly recommendable! – Martin Seidl, Vienna, Austria

24th August, 2017

A fabulous stay at Charcoal House – thank you!

Beautifully furnished, all home comforts and a truly beautiful location.

We have spent 10 days exploring this beautiful area and had great weather to top it off.

Wonderful break for the whole family – thank you. – Guy, Fiona, Zachery & Emilia & Grand Parents

12th August, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Wonderful property in a stunning location”

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Charcoal House, which has to be the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in.

Everything about the house was perfect, so much attention to detail and as for the beds – so comfortable.

The location is so peaceful with fine walks nearby. Our highlight being the hike up the Old Man of Coniston and beyond.

We sampled many fine pubs all of which are a short drive away.

A thoroughly enjoyable week in the lakes, we will definitely be back to Charcoal House – Nick Baldwin, Uckfield, East Sussex

11th August, 2017

A wonderful stay at Charcoal House.

It is certainly the best holiday house we have ever stayed in. So many great memories in beautiful surroundings.

Our highlight was the views of our 10 mile hike over The Old Man of Coniston and beyond. Well worth the effort and achy feet.

Many thoughtful touches throughout the house which made our stay even better.

Our thanks to you for allowing us to charge our electric car. This made the whole holiday stress free. We will be back. – The Baldwins, East Sussex

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

15th January, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“2nd visit and we will be back”

A really excellent holiday house. Loads of old style character but with modern luxury comforts.

We had a discussion about what if anything could be improved and decided the only thing was the dribbly tea pot. On second thoughts though we loved that too! – Jude

12th January, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

 5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Escape”

Just got home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful cottage. Never written a review on trip advisor before but had to with this place as it was truly beautiful.

We’ve already been recommending to friends and family as a perfect base for visiting the rest of the lakes.

The cottage, and in particular the kitchen, were really well equipped which was great because I love cooking.

Also got to mention local bakery, Fat Flour, delicious! We made several visits!

We had our 7 month old cockapoo Walter with us too who spent many an hour snuggled up in front of the log fire, after long days spent exploring during our walks. The walk to Cartmel through the woods – approx 2 miles either way – and a day spent at Haverigg beach I think were his personal highlights during our stay. Thank you for an amazing visit – Amy Newton, Nantwich, Cheshire

15th December, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“High end property with great views”

Cartmel Hill is a spacious property with a beautiful view towards Morecambe bay capturing the sunset.

We found the house to be warm spacious and well equipped and the location great, just a 15 minute walk into the village.

Would love to return in spring/summer to make use of the wonderful summerhouse and for bird watching.

There are great walks from the doorstep, an OS map enables you to make up your own walks! Thanks to Simon and the team – Frank & Wendy Hayes, Chorley, Lancashire

twittername