9th November, 2018

From Email:-

We had a great time – it is the first time my husband and I had been to the Lakes and we loved it.

The house was extremely comfortable and furnished/decorated to a very good standard. I fell in love with the Aga, having never cooked on one before and loved the fact that most of the house seemed to benefit from the heat generated. My husband is dreading the inevitable request!

We will almost certainly be making another trip to the area, probably at a similar time because we enjoyed the beautiful autumn colours so much and the added benefit of very few people around, although it was far from deserted.

We also spent far more time and money than was good for us in Booth’s (the North West’s equivalent to Waitrose-but much better) – Stephanie Locke

19th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“First class”

Great venue, very relaxing, very spacious, and great quality. The place was spotless – Marc McLaughlin

15th October, 2018

Thank you for enabling us all to have such a wonderful time at Charcoal House.

The house was amazing and just what we needed, my wife loved the AGA!

It’s so difficult to find somewhere that has 4 large double rooms, enough to accommodate 4 couples.

We all loved the house and the area and are looking at booking again next September – Graham Still

21st September, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“An ideal base for exploring the Lake District”

A very well appointed rental property that offered a real home from home.

Very tastefully furnished with everything provided that might be needed.

Extremely quiet.

Ideally located for access to main routes for exploring the Lake District. Good local facilities and easy access to Ulverston for shopping requirements. Owner very attentive. Highly recommended – Phil Burrell, Wlithshire

14th September, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Amazing 5 Star”

Wow, what an amazing place this is, the surrounding area one is of the most beautiful parts ok the UK.

The accomodation was perfect in every sense. Plentiful in space throughout, decorated in a very tasteful way with every luxury from broadband internet, smart TV, roll top bath and fantastic beds, through to Nespresso coffee machine, Le creuset kitchenware and the warming aga which I was dreading but it is so easy to use, with thoughtful instructions, I now want one in my kitchen at home (the aga is bigger than my kitchen so that isn’t happening!).

There’s plenty of books, DVDs and local information to keep you entertained, a great covered balcony with table and chairs from the upstairs living room and a beautiful view. There is even an umbrella, washing machine and separate dryer and a huge fridge freezer.

Our family, in particular my German in-laws, loved everything about it and really hope to come back, thank you so much – Robert

13th August, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent!”

We have just spent the last seven days in this delightful cottage.

From the moment we arrived all six of us fell in love with it and by the end of the stay I was imagining myself living there on a permanent basis.

The open plan kitchen was a dream and all the appliances and crockery were of a high standard.

There was no fighting for the best bedroom as each one was as beautiful as the next.

The location was great as there were so many places we found to explore, on foot and by car.

We had been advised that the mobile phone coverage was poor but Vodafone coverage in the cottage was strong and no complaints at all from anyone on the wifi which worked 100% of the time.

We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and I must say dealing with Simon has been an absolute pleasure. His one aim was ensure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Charcoal Cottage, thank you Simon – Jan Muir, Hampshire

11th May, 2018

Fantastic stay in this amazing cottage!

The facilities and layout were perfect for our stay and the care that has been put into the decoration of the place was really noticed.

Would recommend to all and would love to come back – Mike, Liz, Anthony, Kirsty, Nat, Tom and Hetti with dogs

7th May, 2018

Wonderful cottage!

Well-equipped, layout is great and to an excellent standard. Ideal location to tour Coniston and Windermere Lakes. Would recommend to all who ask – The Lukes

We travelled with a four-month-old to a gorgeous place!

Lovely inside and out. Loved the quality bedding. The towels felt like hotel quality.

The garden is pretty and the balcony even better.

Want to come back! – The Starrs

4th May, 2018

Beautiful cottage done very tastefully to an excellent standard.

Well-equipped with everything you could possibly want. Beds extremely comfortable and we will certainly go home well rested!

Location has been ideal for us, we’ve had great adventures and loved the village of Grasmere.

All in all we’ve had a fabulous time and will highly recommend Charcoal House.

***** from us, thank you – Tony, Anna, Christina & Hamish, Glasgow & Aberdeen

Otto the dachshund adds:

I’ve had a great time with my parents and Grandparents. My little legs had lots of big adventures and I am going to miss the warm spot beside the Aga, woof woof!

30th April, 2018

We have had a lovely long weekend at Charcoal House.

Very cute and tidy house, living room and bedrooms are a great size and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep every night.

We were lucky with the clear weather and enjoyed walks with the dog and BBQs every day.

We were celebrating an anniversary so it was great for spending time as a family and playing games. All in all a great break!

Thank you – The Meadows family

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

26th November, 2018

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

Fantastic weekend in this, the 3rd of Simon’s properties we’ve stayed at.  As ever, the attention to detail is stunning, as is the location!

What a fabulous visit and stay! We wouldn’t use anybody other than Simon whenever we stay in the Lake District.

Thanks ever so much – The Bywater family, Lancashire

23rd November, 2018

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

It’s a really well located property with great facilities and is extremely comfortably appointed to a very high standard.

Great rooms, excellent bathrooms and superb kitchen.

The access to and views of the river make this a magical place to stay, Les Grant, Morpeth, Northumberland (another of our regular guests)

16th November, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Simply wonderful!”

Wonderful cottage! Wonderful location!

The area is fabulous, so close to Cartmel village, five minutes drive and the train virtually just down the road will take you to Ulverston in literally 7 minutes!

Very dog friendly. Owner very helpful and responsive – William