Please Note: We've only started renting out Charcoal House in March 2016.

2nd June, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lake District Break”

Great weeks break in the fabulous lake district with Friends, scenery breath-taking, just goes to show what the UK has to offer.

The house was exactly described, very clean and a good size for 4 adults, 3 children and a dog (with The Nook) all the facilities you need, great location to explore the surrounding areas.

PS. recommend the Blacksmiths Arms in Broughton Mills as a great cosy pub with really good food. – Nick Smith

21st April, 2017

What a wonderful cottage, perfectly appointed with everything we could possibly need and more!

Loved the views from the balcony and walks directly across the doorstep – The Damant Family

14th April, 2017

This was a family break and this was the perfect venue for the whole family to do things at their own pace from me down to my Granddaughter aged one and two dogs.

They had some great days out but had equal fun on their return to Charcoal House.

Great family cooked meals in the Aga. And then the retiring to the lounge for evening drinking and watching by the log burner.

The facilities were fantastic, we’d definitely come again 10/10 – The Simmons Family

6th April, 2017

The weather was so wonderful, only half a day of rain. The Italian member of our group was very impressed. No need to use the wood burning stove.

We really enjoyed our walk up the Old Man of Coniston and the view of him from the balcony is wonderful. The dogs have a great time, lovely walks over Bethecar Moor and Blawith Common.

Beautiful rooms in a very cosy house. We mastered the Aga during our stay and found it very useful for drying our socks on after a boggy walk.

We can’t wait to come back and explore more – The Lloyd Family

17th March, 2017

The perfect house for our fabulous family get together.

We loved the location and property and were very lucky with the weather!

Thank you for thinking of everything that makes a stay so homely, comfortable and special.

Each room was well appointed and stylish.

We look forward to returning soon – Sally, Toby and Grandies

13th March, 2017

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

22nd January, 2017

Thank you so much for a glorious few days here at Charcoal House.

From the minute we stepped foot inside this beautiful location we knew it was going to be a special place.

The cleanliness is 2nd to none and the house is furnished to an exceedingly high standard with views to die for. The location is superb too.

Simon couldn’t have done enough for us and we are already planning our next trip here in spring time. Many thanks – The Brooksy’s, Liverpool

30th December, 2016

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lakes retreat”

We had a wonderful time over Christmas at Charcoal House.

The house is really spacious and is entered through a welcoming, well-equipped kitchen with an AGA keeping it lovely, toasty and homely.

The decor in the house was the perfect blend of country comfort with contemporary colours so it appealed to all ages within our family, all of whom had a great time.

The views from the balcony off the first floor living room are great and the log burning stove in the room makes it even more cosy. We’d love to go back – Nick & Family, Bath, Somerset 

Christmas 2016

Thank you so much. We all had a lovely time staying in your beautiful home.

We had a relaxing time and enjoyed some lovely walks around Coniston.

The house is amazing and very comfortable and well equipped.

We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back sometime. Thank you so much – The Law Family

28th November, 2016

Great place – had a good family birthday weekend get together and enjoyed facilities.

The weather was very kind- had two shining days with perfect sun and frost.

Had a great meal out at Steam Bistro in Coniston – would thoroughly recommend it – even coped well with gluten free requirements – Fiona Drake, Matlock, Derbyshire

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

14th July, 2017

Rose Farm Reviews

From Email:-

My wife and I would like to thank you for the excellent information and directions which you sent to us before our stay. The information most certainly enhanced our knowledge of the area, made our journey easy and helped make our holiday relaxing and enjoyable.

Would you also please thank the housekeeper who prepared the house so immaculately for our stay.

I must add that it was a joy to see the birds at the kitchen window and red squirrels on the tree using the caring feeders you provide.

Rose Farm is a very beautiful house and it was a great pleasure for us to stay there.  We hope to visit again and are sure that our friends and relative would also enjoy a holiday there sometime in the future.

Thank you once again, Simon – Robert Porteous, Killingworth, Tyne & Wear

30th June, 2017

Rose Farm Reviews

From Email

We have stayed in lots of holiday cottages over the last 20 years and I would have to say Rose Farm is by far the best.

Thanks for everything , a wonderful rest in a beautiful place – Colin Liversage

16th June, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“This cottage is very high spec”

Had a lovely few day here with my family.

Loved the beautiful wooden doors and latches. The kitchen had all the best gadgets very high spec.

We spent most of our time in the conservatory looking over the beautiful garden.

There is a lovely little pub about 2 minutes walk away, as is a local shop that sells all you need . About 5 minutes walk away is the village square which has more pubs and a few little gift shops. Would love to go back again – Norman Hobbs

twittername