28th January,

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham

7th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful, exceptional comfy house”

What can I say but amazing and just what we all needed after a very busy Christmas.

My Husband, children, grandparents, grandchildren and myself stayed at Charcoal House and once again what a wonderful house it is.

The house is very spacious, comfy and very clean and made extra special with the welcoming warmth of the Aga, which we made great use of, although we did go for a lovely evening meal at The Mill in Ulverston.

The large sitting area is beautiful and the lovely balcony with its amazing view, great for spotting the local wildlife.

We stayed for 3 days at the house relaxing, walking and on the last day just spent at the lake just skimming stones, the grandchildren just loved this.

This is the 3rd property we have rented from Simon and all equally as nice. So once again thank you and can’t wait for next time – Lindsay Sandilands

28th December, 2018

A special place to spend a wonderful Christmas.

We enjoyed the Aga, the log fire, meals around the table, the Red Lion (the nearest pub just one mile away) and the Christmas tree. Thank you – The Wright family, London

9th November, 2018

From Email:-

We had a great time – it is the first time my husband and I had been to the Lakes and we loved it.

The house was extremely comfortable and furnished/decorated to a very good standard. I fell in love with the Aga, having never cooked on one before and loved the fact that most of the house seemed to benefit from the heat generated. My husband is dreading the inevitable request!

We will almost certainly be making another trip to the area, probably at a similar time because we enjoyed the beautiful autumn colours so much and the added benefit of very few people around, although it was far from deserted.

We also spent far more time and money than was good for us in Booth’s (the North West’s equivalent to Waitrose-but much better) – Stephanie Locke

25th October, 2018

A wonderful base to explore the southern lakes and surrounding villages.

Good bracing walks and breath-taking autumn scenery – Monika, Nick, & Norman Jones, South Wales

19th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“First class”

Great venue, very relaxing, very spacious, and great quality. The place was spotless – Marc McLaughlin

15th October, 2018

Thank you for enabling us all to have such a wonderful time at Charcoal House.

The house was amazing and just what we needed, my wife loved the AGA!

It’s so difficult to find somewhere that has 4 large double rooms, enough to accommodate 4 couples.

We all loved the house and the area and are looking at booking again next September – Graham Still

5th October, 2018

Four relaxing days in this lovely house.

Peace and quiet in a lovely rural location.

Plenty of space, especially as there was only 2 of us – Julia & Martin, South Devon

21st September, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“An ideal base for exploring the Lake District”

A very well appointed rental property that offered a real home from home.

Very tastefully furnished with everything provided that might be needed.

Extremely quiet.

Ideally located for access to main routes for exploring the Lake District. Good local facilities and easy access to Ulverston for shopping requirements. Owner very attentive. Highly recommended – Phil Burrell, Wlithshire

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

18th February, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

This venue was amazing for a relaxing tranquil weekend. Lazy mornings, long soak in the bath, walking, pub meals and real fires 🔥 – Catherine

28th January,

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham