21st March, 2019

From Email:-

My wife is over the moon with the house, she keeps saying it is better and cleaner than all of the non-dog friendly places we have been – Richard Blagg – Newcastle Upon Tyne

18th February, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

Fabulous house. Pristine and very warm. Impressively appointed – Chris Grant

15th February, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Home Away

“Spectacular home away from home”

Absolutely gorgeous, well-kept house.

Plenty of scope for scenic walks or just relaxing indoors and enjoying the views from the windows.

Felt extremely welcome and would return in a heartbeat.

All 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Could not fault the house in any way – Elaine Hill

28th January,

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful house, warm, welcoming, modern but with so much character. A real corker of a property!”

Thanks Simon, my family and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Charcoal House.

My husband loved taking early morning walks to Coniston Water and it was a fantastic base for exploring the Lake District.

The only problem we had was the house was so great, we didn’t want to leave! – Liz & Family

25th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect for a family getaway!”

8 of us and our dog Harley stayed at Charcoal House for a week in January.

The house was super, very spacious with lovely furnishings, and everyone had a lovely break, even the Aga was a hit and produced an excellent Sunday lunch!

Even though the weather was snowy, we had no problem getting about, and took advantage of a number of Simon’s recommended walks which were right on the doorstep.

We also visited his recommended cafes and restaurants in Lowick Bridge, Greenodd and Ulverston, all of which were great.

All in all, the house is perfect for a family getaway and we will definitely look to book one of Simon’s properties for our January break next year – Peter Jones, Wrexham

7th January, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful, exceptional comfy house”

What can I say but amazing and just what we all needed after a very busy Christmas.

My Husband, children, grandparents, grandchildren and myself stayed at Charcoal House and once again what a wonderful house it is.

The house is very spacious, comfy and very clean and made extra special with the welcoming warmth of the Aga, which we made great use of, although we did go for a lovely evening meal at The Mill in Ulverston.

The large sitting area is beautiful and the lovely balcony with its amazing view, great for spotting the local wildlife.

We stayed for 3 days at the house relaxing, walking and on the last day just spent at the lake just skimming stones, the grandchildren just loved this.

This is the 3rd property we have rented from Simon and all equally as nice. So once again thank you and can’t wait for next time – Lindsay Sandilands

28th December, 2018

A special place to spend a wonderful Christmas.

We enjoyed the Aga, the log fire, meals around the table, the Red Lion (the nearest pub just one mile away) and the Christmas tree. Thank you – The Wright family, London

9th November, 2018

From Email:-

We had a great time – it is the first time my husband and I had been to the Lakes and we loved it.

The house was extremely comfortable and furnished/decorated to a very good standard. I fell in love with the Aga, having never cooked on one before and loved the fact that most of the house seemed to benefit from the heat generated. My husband is dreading the inevitable request!

We will almost certainly be making another trip to the area, probably at a similar time because we enjoyed the beautiful autumn colours so much and the added benefit of very few people around, although it was far from deserted.

We also spent far more time and money than was good for us in Booth’s (the North West’s equivalent to Waitrose-but much better) – Stephanie Locke

25th October, 2018

A wonderful base to explore the southern lakes and surrounding villages.

Good bracing walks and breath-taking autumn scenery – Monika, Nick, & Norman Jones, South Wales

19th October, 2018

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“First class”

Great venue, very relaxing, very spacious, and great quality. The place was spotless – Marc McLaughlin

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

24th May, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”

Lovely 4 bed cottage in pretty Cartmel.  Well equipped and spotless.

Comfy beds, modern bathrooms and plenty of parking space. A great base for Cartmel and the south lakes.

A short walk into Cartmel with its amazing Priory and charming racecourse. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the village. We enjoyed the Priory Hotel for simple quality food and The Cavendish for something a bit more adventurous. We will be back – Charles 

17th May, 2019

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Excellent Property”

Very well appointed cottage.

Very clean, great location, everything you could want. Good communication with manager/agent.

Celia H.

3rd May, 2019

Sawmill Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely Cottage in a Perfect Location”

Stayed at Sawmill Cottage last week for a family reunion and we all loved it.

Great having the four en-suite bedrooms which are all a good size and nice big showers too, not to mention the beds which were soooo comfy.

The cottage is nice and spacious so eight of us didn’t feel crowded at all. It has recently been refurbished so has nice modern appliances and fittings yet manages to keep its old cottage feeling Lovely patio/garden area with a bench perfect for relaxing and looking out for the dippers and wagtails sitting on the rocks in the river.

Simon was extremely helpful, always quickly responding to any queries that we had.

We would definitely stay here again but my only concern about giving it a glowing review is that it’s going to be fully booked up and we may not be able to get in ? – John Mason, Lichfield Staffordshire