11th May, 2018

Fantastic stay in this amazing cottage!

The facilities and layout were perfect for our stay and the care that has been put into the decoration of the place was really noticed.

Would recommend to all and would love to come back – Mike, Liz, Anthony, Kirsty, Nat, Tom and Hetti with dogs

7th May, 2018

Wonderful cottage!

Well-equipped, layout is great and to an excellent standard. Ideal location to tour Coniston and Windermere Lakes. Would recommend to all who ask – The Lukes

We travelled with a four-month-old to a gorgeous place!

Lovely inside and out. Loved the quality bedding. The towels felt like hotel quality.

The garden is pretty and the balcony even better.

Want to come back! – The Starrs

4th May, 2018

Beautiful cottage done very tastefully to an excellent standard.

Well-equipped with everything you could possibly want. Beds extremely comfortable and we will certainly go home well rested!

Location has been ideal for us, we’ve had great adventures and loved the village of Grasmere.

All in all we’ve had a fabulous time and will highly recommend Charcoal House.

***** from us, thank you – Tony, Anna, Christina & Hamish, Glasgow & Aberdeen

Otto the dachshund adds:

I’ve had a great time with my parents and Grandparents. My little legs had lots of big adventures and I am going to miss the warm spot beside the Aga, woof woof!

30th April, 2018

We have had a lovely long weekend at Charcoal House.

Very cute and tidy house, living room and bedrooms are a great size and comfortable. We had a great nights sleep every night.

We were lucky with the clear weather and enjoyed walks with the dog and BBQs every day.

We were celebrating an anniversary so it was great for spending time as a family and playing games. All in all a great break!

Thank you – The Meadows family

13th April, 2018

What a fabulous house to live in for a week.

We were celebrating an anniversary and birthday and generally enjoying being together.

Plenty of room, the beds are sooo comfy. Very warm. We loved the Aga and the split back door – all so traditional.

Sorry to leave – we have enjoyed getting to know this area a lot more, and reaquainting ourselves with memories of past holidays.

The Red Lion is great – very friendly and we were lucky enough to go on Thursday night for music night. A great selection of musicians playing varied music – very special (second Thursday of each month).

Thanks once again – The Bentleys

6th April, 2018

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house.

We thoroughly enjoyed getting away with the family, lots of great walking (Old Man twice)!

The house is lovely, sociable, warm(!) yet still cosy. Beds are so comfy.

A great few days. Thank you – Emma, Rob, Ben, Jess, Ad, Helen with Gracy & Toby the dogs, Didcot

23rd March, 2018

Charcoal House exceeded our expectations in every way which is really appreciated given pictures can often be deceptive and other accommodations have ended up being ‘less rather than more’.

It is so nice to come somewhere with quality furnishings, rather than cheap bare bones.

We’ve had a really lovely break in such a beautiful part of the world and the property has been very much part of the experience.

Thank you and we hope to return in the future – Darren, Stuart & Nellie, Chichester with Nathan & Matilda, Durham

9th March, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic!!”

We’ve had a lovely week at Charcoal House and were really sad to leave.

The location of the property was great! Only a short walk to the Coniston Water and the fells.

Charcoal House was lovely, Clean, warm and inviting and exceeded all our needs, a great place to catch up with family and friends.

We were provided with lots of information on the area walks, places to eat and drink etc from the owner. Can’t wait to book again! Paula

3rd March, 2018

Lovely house really warm and cosy in the snow!

We had everything we needed for a fantastic week. Snowy walks and lots of food and drink – The Browns, Horners & Ayrtons

26th February, 2018

Wonderful house and gardens.

Very spacious, well-equipped kitchen lovely views and a great location.

The Steam X in Coniston was fab as was Chesters By The River.

All in all a wonderful short break, we will be back. The Grahams, Wellingtons and Bells (8 go mad in Cumbria)

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

6th July, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful Cottage”

We had a lovely five days stay at Bridgelands Cottage. It was the ideal place to have a beautiful restful break.

Very clean and well equipped with everything you need to make it a joy to come back to after a long walk enjoying the lovely scenery.

Our dog loved the freedom of running around in the enclosed garden too.

Would love to come back one day for another enjoyable and peaceful break – Paul

6th July, 2018

Cartmel Hill Reviews

5 star Review on Home Away

“Superb cottage in an outstanding location”

Driving up the lane to the cottage I must say it looked impressive standing out on the hill in the glorious sunshine.

This truly is a peaceful location, the views are spectacular. Internally the cottage is furnished to a very high standard throughout.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need. The two main bedrooms have large impressive ensuite bathrooms.

The summer house in the garden is fantastic and again furnished to a very high standard.

Simon provides lots of information about the local area, places to walk and eat.

The beautiful village of Cartmel is about a 20 minute walk once you have found the path through the wood. It has lots of places to eat and drink, our favorite being the Cavendish Arms.

Cartmel Hill cottage is truly a five star accommodation. Communication and customer service provided by Simon was outstanding making our holiday a very memorable one.
Thanks again Simon! we will be back. The Kirk family from Yorkshire

18th June, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

Beautiful stay in the cottage, we struggled to leave!

Highly recommend ‘Fat Flour’ bakery for weekend pizza and breakfast delights – you need to get there early to have the best croissants outside France!

Frankie, Alice & Helen with Clover & Bramble the dogs

twittername