9th March, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic!!”

We’ve had a lovely week at Charcoal House and were really sad to leave.

The location of the property was great! Only a short walk to the Coniston Water and the fells.

Charcoal House was lovely, Clean, warm and inviting and exceeded all our needs, a great place to catch up with family and friends.

We were provided with lots of information on the area walks, places to eat and drink etc from the owner. Can’t wait to book again! Paula

29th January, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“A perfect and peaceful retreat”

We have recently returned from a long weekend in Charcoal House. A truly fantastic cottage which has been decorated to the highest standard.

From the warming Aga in the open plan kitchen, to the magnificent wood burner in the upstairs lounge, our family enjoyed the comfort and relaxed atmosphere this beautiful Lake District cottage offered.

Simon’s advice about dog friendly places/pubs to visit and eat at came in very handy – especially our visit to the Black Bull in Coniston with its microbrewery.

Any small issues we had, were dealt with quickly and in a very friendly manner by Simon – who was very approachable and keen to ensure our stay was the best it could be.

I can highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone looking for a ‘touch of class’ to make their holiday very special. You won’t be disappointed. 5 very well deserved stars from a highly impressed family.

10th November, 2017

What a lovely place to stay. We’ve really enjoyed our stay at Charcoal House-very homely and welcoming.

We had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful lakes and surrounding area. Thank you! – Paul & Sharon Smith, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

3rd Novemeber, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Fantatsic few days in the Lakes”

Charcoal house was a fantastic base for our break in the lakes, even better than the photographs.

The house is filled with quality furnishing and finishes, with everything you can think of at hand.

The walk into the woods with the dog was a definite highlight.

We would thoroughly recommend the house, all details and information provided were spot on – David Page,  East Cottingwith, Yorkshire

19th October, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here in your beautiful cottage.

It is warm cosy and very well fitted out. It is a really good venue for the larger family groups as it is so welcoming as well as quiet and peaceful.

There are lots of things to do here and nice places to visit not too far away as well as good local walks.

The Church House Inn at nearby Torver is well recommended with good food ale and service.

Our daughter loved the low-level sink in the bathroom as she learned how to turn the taps on so she could play in the water. It was a delight to hear her squeal as she would run up and down the hallway.

We had a great week thank you and will definitely be coming back for another lovely family holiday. – Philip, Judith, Meg, Matt & Evie

6th October, 2017

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here – despite the presence of our two tiny children!

This is the perfect base to explore the delights of South Lakeland, as well as being a fantastic place in its own right. We will be telling all our friends about it!

Many thanks for a perfect few days. – Mike, Ellie, Arthur & Maud, Oxford

4th October, 2017

A wonderful place to stay coupled with amazing scenery and places to visit made it an excellent holiday! – Trevor & Angela Peters

29th September, 2017

We’ve all been so comfortable and warm here! Lovely place – and beautiful decoration.

A great base for us to get together with our friends and enjoy the beautiful scenery and walks.

Will be recommending to friends! – Thank you. Janet, Tony, Pete, Lesley, David, Milly & Harry

23rd September, 2017

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Outstanding”

We had a great four weeks stay in this wonderful, well-equipped and very spacious country house.

We would come back any time, highly recommendable! – Martin Seidl, Vienna, Austria

24th August, 2017

A fabulous stay at Charcoal House – thank you!

Beautifully furnished, all home comforts and a truly beautiful location.

We have spent 10 days exploring this beautiful area and had great weather to top it off.

Wonderful break for the whole family – thank you. – Guy, Fiona, Zachery & Emilia & Grand Parents

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

21st May, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 Star Review on ‘mycottageholiday.co.uk’

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my Dad’s 60th birthday and it was just the perfect spot.

A lovely homely feel about the cottage and everything you could possibly need was catered for.

Great location, especially as we visited L’Enclume in nearby Cartmel as part of our stay.

Fantastic dog walks, and so much information provided by the owners that you wouldn’t even need to have done any research beforehand.

We found nearby Humphrey Head when out exploring, where at low tide the dogs ran around for ages enjoying a dip in the water.

We didn’t really want to leave so I’m sure we’ll find a reason to return – Claire Waidson, Chelmsford, Essex

7th May, 2018

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fab cottage”

Five of us have just returned from a long weekend at this cottage and we had a great time.

The cottage is lovely and a great size. Large kitchen is ideal for entertaining with a cosy living room to chill in.

The cottage provided everything we needed for our stay. The location is perfect for exploring the lakes.

We enjoyed pizzas from Fat Flour bakery on the Friday night when we arrived and a lovely dinner at the Engine Inn (the local village pub, 2 minutes’ walk from the cottage) on Saturday night.

The weather was lovely when we visited so we were able to spend a lot of our time in the enclosed garden which my wee dog enjoyed.

All in all a great stay and would definitely stay again. Thank you – Louise

7th May, 2018

Rose Farm Reviews

From Email:-

We all had a fab weekend, couldn’t have been luckier with the weather and the cottage topped everything off.

We’ve stayed in a few places that cater for later groups and Rose Farm is by far the best one we have found yet! Absolutely beautiful inside and out!

Thanks for sharing your home,

Emma Isaacs, Stansted, Essex 

twittername