12th July, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Cosy country cottage”

Carree is a charming and well-equipped country cottage in South Lakeland. It’s perfect for a quiet getaway within easy walking of Holker Hall, Cartmel village and the Cartmel peninsula. It’s great whether you’re interested in gardens, gastronomy or the local bays and birdlife.

For years we’ve driven by South Lakeland and headed for the peaks. What a mistake! South Lakeland has so much to offer and is still within easy reach of Grizedale, Coniston, the Duddon valley and Windermere – Kay

9th July, 2019

Good morning Simon,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic break in Carree Cottage.  In no small measure, that was due to the excellent pre-arrival service from you and the thorough information pack that you provided.  You obviously put a lot of work into that and it was much appreciated.

We visited many of the places you suggested and had a splendid time.  We walked on most days and hardly took the car out of the garage.  The weather cooperated too!

A very memorable holiday.  We hope to be back to South Lakeland and Carree Cottage again soon.

Many Thanks,

Keith & Annie Andrews, Telford, Shropshire

5th, April, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Highly Recommended”

Very well equipped with lots of thoughtful touches.

Rural location with lots of walks, but good amenities in the village, and only a few miles from the main road.

Very modern heating, bathroom, and internet which worked brilliantly.

Beautiful starry skies from the garden. Very much enjoyed the log fire, I want one of the gas lighting pokers for myself! – John Atkinson

31st March, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Lovely comfortable Cottage!!”

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely comfortable cottage. Cottage is pet friendly too and our pet dog “George” really enjoyed his stay and was very relaxed staying in the cottage.

We loved the whole layout and it was so well equipped. Spotless bed linen and towels also.The real log fireplace was really cosy to light on an evening after enjoyable long /short walks.

We really enjoyed looking up at the star filled sky on a clear night from the cottage garden. It’s in such a lovely peaceful place. It’s in a great location too. Lovely friendly pub “The Engine Inn” is less than 2 minutes walk away. Handy grocery shop/general store “Londis” is also less than 2 minutes away.

Simon has thought of everything and his recommended walks written in the guest book were a great help.

We will highly recommend staying in your cottages to family/friends/colleagues. Thank you!! – Liza

1st March, 2019

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Beautiful charming cottage”

A wonderful cottage, immaculately presented and spotlessly clean. So full of character and located in a quiet location yet close to all the amenities that Cark and Cartmel have to offer – William O’Reilly

28th December, 2018

Cosy, well stocked cottage with beautiful log fire and tasteful Christmas decorations.

We enjoyed walking the dog to Cartmel and touring the lakes.

Cark in Cartmel is an interesting village and must have quite a history!!

All the best and thanks – Carol Alan and co. Kent & Buckinghamshire

23rd November, 2018

Lovely cottage. Lovely stay.

Great location for walks and getting about in the car – The McDade family and Dennis the dog, Glasgow

9th November, 2018

Fabulous week once again.

Our only complaint is that we have to go home!!!

See you next year… The Smith family & Toffee the dog, Lancaster, Lancashire

2nd November, 2018

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Enchanting Cottage”

Carree Cottage boasts it’s own endearing character. Beautiful oak beams and a cosy open fire that became the focal point of the holiday ! Three kids would have to take turns lighting the fire in which they found exciting and enchanting.

Well equipped kitchen and outstanding bathroom.

A family of six all had comfy night sleeps and a lovely holiday – Jackie

26th October, 2018

Beautiful cottage, perfect location!

We enjoyed some lovely dog walks and trips to the Engine Inn, (the nearest pub-2 minutes walk away), Bowness and Fell Foot Park (bottom of Lake Windermere).

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We hope to visit again in the near future – Hardy/Hughes family

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

Our Cottages

5 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
6 People 4 Beds
(3 Bedrooms)
1 Bathroom
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
5 Bathrooms
8 People 5 Beds
(4 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms
10 People 6 Beds
(5 Bedrooms)
3 Bathrooms

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Instagram

Reviews

9th August, 2019

Charcoal House Reviews

From Email

Hi Simon,

Just wanted to send a review of our 4 night stay at Charcoal House from the 5th of August to the 9th as I never found the time to write a review in the guest book.

The property was absolutely stunning and I must say the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in (and we’ve stopped in quite a few).

Fabulous kitchen with the Aga. The Nook was so perfect for my daughter and her boyfriend and the other bedrooms were gorgeous, beautifully decorated, comfy beds and lovely bedding.

The lounge area was excellent for chilling out in the evening for all six of us and our chocolate Labrador Mabel, who thoroughly enjoyed her stay in this lovely cottage and the surrounding areas.

Thank you so much and we will have no hesitation recommending this property to our friends and will definitely be back to this property or one of your others in the future.

Regards

Melanie Caddy

5th August, 2019

Weavers Cottages Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage”

Just home from our Friday to Monday stay. We were there as a family to celebrate a special surprise birthday treat. It was perfect, the cottage is beautiful and so well equiped to meet all of your needs. So close to the centre of the village which is also stunning.

Lots of lovely walks on the doorstep. A perfect place to relax and spend quality family time. I would not hesitate to recommend or to stay here again. Loved it – June

12th July, 2019

Carree Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Cosy country cottage”

Carree is a charming and well-equipped country cottage in South Lakeland. It’s perfect for a quiet getaway within easy walking of Holker Hall, Cartmel village and the Cartmel peninsula. It’s great whether you’re interested in gardens, gastronomy or the local bays and birdlife.

For years we’ve driven by South Lakeland and headed for the peaks. What a mistake! South Lakeland has so much to offer and is still within easy reach of Grizedale, Coniston, the Duddon valley and Windermere – Kay