9th October, 2017

Great cottage in a lovely village. Like a home from home.

The Engine Inn has great beer and food (the local pub, 2 minutes walk from the cottage). The perfect weekend away. Thank you. – Gary, Julie, Benson, Michael & Becci, Barnoldswick

6th October, 2017

From Email:-

Hi Simon,

As ever, a wonderful stay.  Our friends who stayed with us had never been to the area before and they loved the cottage and the location. That was our 4th time with you in the Lakes

You really do well with the cottages, they have such a lovely traditional feeling.  Everything always runs like clockwork. Another 10 out of 10 holiday.

Kindest regards

Shona Muir, Alloa, Clackmannanshire

 

 

8th September, 2017

Our second visit to one of Simon’s cottages! Lovely cottage, very well-equipped.

It is nice to have shop and bakery close. A quiet few days for us, dogs loved the walks.

We loved the long walk on the promenade at Grange and love Cartmel. Interesting visit to miniature Lakeland village.

Thanks again Simon! – Toni, Dave & the dogs

2nd September, 2017

Lovely cottage!

The walk to the wind turbine is a great walk. Cartmel is lovely. The Royal Oak is great for young families. We would recommend The Mason Arms for the views. For any National Trust Members – Fell Foot is great.

Bakery in Cark does lovely garlic bread and The Engine Inn has great food.

Lots of greatness! Thank you, Simon. – The Lill Family

26th August, 2017

The cottage was very comfortable, relaxing and quiet. We all enjoyed our stay here.

The visit to Windermere lake will leave us with wonderful memories and we hope to return soon. – Fred, Michelle, Kamren & Sarah, Huddersfield & France

19th August, 2017

Thanks for a lovely week in a lovely cottage.

The weather has been very kind to us. Lots to do and see in the area, we especially enjoyed the vintage ice cream parlour which was a great day out for us all. – C Joy & Family, Stockton-on-Tees

5th August, 2017

A lovely cosy cottage, thank you.

We have enjoyed our stay. Our dog enjoyed your window seat. – J Riley & family

7th July, 2017

Thank you for a perfect welcome! Lights on and milk in the fridge.

We came to Cumbria to ride the Cumbrian heavy horses which was an amazing experience.

The cottage is everything we needed and more. Will recommend to anyone visiting this way many thanks. – Jane, Laura, Rhiannon, Megan & Ellen with Archie the dog, Anglesey

3rd July, 2017

Thank you for a fabulous weekend!

The cottage is lovely and comfortable with everything you need. We went to the races and Tom Jones concert, which was amazing. The walk to Cartmel is very easy and the local pubs are nice. – Lynne, Billy, Becky & Darren, Wigan

29th June, 2017

We have had a restful holiday in a comfortable cottage and loved the quiet location.

The weather hasn’t been great! The Engine is the better of the two local pubs and the bakery serves good bread and pizzas. – Billy, Louise, Oliver & Erin the dog, Liverpool

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

10th November, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

What a lovely place to stay. We’ve really enjoyed our stay at Charcoal House-very homely and welcoming.

We had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful lakes and surrounding area. Thank you! – Paul & Sharon Smith, Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

3rd Novemeber, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Fantatsic few days in the Lakes”

Charcoal house was a fantastic base for our break in the lakes, even better than the photographs.

The house is filled with quality furnishing and finishes, with everything you can think of at hand.

The walk into the woods with the dog was a definite highlight.

We would thoroughly recommend the house, all details and information provided were spot on – David Page,  East Cottingwith, Yorkshire

20th October, 2017

Shamrock Cottage Reviews

What a lovely cottage!

A great wee break. Will recommend and return. – Cecilia, Gordon, Finlay & Buddy the dog

twittername