12th August, 2017

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Hidden Gem of Cark”

We stayed in this super cottage for two weeks and really enjoyed everything it has to offer.

Lovely and clean, really good quality beds and bedding so had a excellent nights sleep and always felt well rested.

Everything you need in a cottage for the whole of your stay was provided and the kitchen is really spacious so very enjoyable to cook those lovely meals you never seem to get the time to do in your busy life.

The fact that it is pet friendly made it even better for us and it is so well situated to visit so many places, and lovely to have a warm and welcoming cottage to come back to after a busy day exploring.

Will definitely be back as even after two weeks still didn’t manage to see everything we wanted – Pam Jenkins, St. Helens

26th May, 2017

From Email:-

We had a wonderful time at your cottage and will definitely be back.

The standard was excellent and we loved the retro leather sofa’s. The beds were very comfy too.

Thank you so much for having us – Pauline, Irvine North Ayrshire

19th May, 2017

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Homely, well equiped and fabulous location”

We stayed at Bridgelands for a week in May and experienced both rain and sunshine.

On arrival the house lights were on which was a nice welcome and there was fresh milk in the fridge.

The kitchen diner is ideal for a larger family such as ourselves and we made us of both the table and the breakfast counter. We also used the high chair and we ate outside a few times.

The house was clean, tidy and smelled fresh and the bathroom was smart, compact but totally manageable. There is a handy part of tiled floor by the front door so you can get wet gear off before going on the carpet.

Sitting room is on the snug side but still fitted us fine for occasional TV watching in the evening. Comfy though and fire if you want to use it.

Bedrooms nice – master bedroom very comfy and relaxing (nicer than my bedroom at home!!)

The village is lovely – there is an artisan bakery which does the most delicious pizzas on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night and they are very reasonable at £5!

The local shop is well stocked with the basics.

Our favourite part was the train station as it was clean, had regular trains even on a Sunday and was a lovely journey into Ulverston which is a must visit town if you like Laurel and Hardy (also has a lovely park and walk up to a monument which you can follow with delicious ice cream). The train station is a 5 minute walk from the house. There is also a small play park in the village.

We didn’t do a lot in the surrounding area as we were using it as a base for the Lake’s but there was a handy folder with lots of info for local walks etc. Owner friendly and helpful and quick with communication – deposit refunded promptly through Pay Pal.

Would certainly return! – Jenn Hodge

13th February, 2017

An excellent place to visit, it has been our first time here and we will most definitely be returning.

The local bakery is wonderful and full of nice surprises. The Pheasant pub is nice.

Hopefully we will see you again soon and this time we will be with our first born child – Matt & Kerr

10th February, 2017

Arrived three hours too early but had a lovely meal in The Royal Oak and walked around Cartmel. It was a biting wind but how nice it was to enter this warm, delightful cottage and light the fire – a pleasure as we don’t have one at home.

The cottage is in a lovely spot. Went to the Lakes and Morecambe which we loved! We would definitely recommend it.

This holiday was a lovely gift from our daughter for our 57 year anniversary – Richie & Vera

5th February, 2017

Had a lovely time in the cottage, clean and cosy (home away from home).

The information left in the cottage was a very big help to us and our two dogs.

Bakery next along has lovely bread and staff. We like the whiskey barrel.

A big thank you to Simon for extending our stay – will most definitely be back.

We had a lovely visit to Holker Hall and would recommend it and walks from the door. Ideal for dogs – Sid and Gill Gibson

23rd January, 2017

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

“Fantastic cottage in quiet, friendly village”

The cottage is ideally situated in the village of Cark, with all the amenities close at hand.  A bakery to die for and the little local shop ‘Londis’ which sells just about everything.

There are also 2 pubs in the village, but on this occasion we did not visit them.

The cottage was spotless and very warm when we arrived and was fantastically equipped with everything we could possible need.

We bought kindling and logs from the local shop and benefitted from a log fire in the evenings whilst watching the television which was well equipped with a large number of channels.

We corresponded with Simon by email prior to our visit and we were fully informed of the directions of how to get to the cottage and places to eat and visit in the area.

There was lots of additional information supplied in the cottage, including boxes of cards printed with local walks, etc.

We would recommend this cottage for a vacation and would return without hesitation. Thank you Simon – Thelma & Family

2nd December, 2016

We have had an amazing stay here.

We were very pleased with all the local information provided!

A lovely and clean and well-presented cottage. Love how it has been kitted out with baby necessities. Very cosy warm and homely – Gemma, Sophie, baby Esme and the dogs

6th November, 2016

5 of 5 stars Reviewed Trip Advisor

Absolutely brilliant really enjoyed it.

Lovely, peaceful, clean, lovely touches by the owner.

Can not recommend highly enough. We will be back – Sarah & Stuart

28th October, 2016

We have had a fantastic first stay in The Lakes.

The cottage is superb, comfy and homely.

The Royal Oak at Cartmel is a must – Laura, David, Isabelle & Rupert

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th August, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 Review on Home Away

“Wonderful property in a stunning location”

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Charcoal House, which has to be the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in.

Everything about the house was perfect, so much attention to detail and as for the beds – so comfortable.

The location is so peaceful with fine walks nearby. Our highlight being the hike up the Old Man of Coniston and beyond.

We sampled many fine pubs all of which are a short drive away.

A thoroughly enjoyable week in the lakes, we will definitely be back to Charcoal House – Nick Baldwin, Uckfield, East Sussex

12th August, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

“I would just like to say thank you for everything you arranged for us.

Our stay was fantastic. All of our family and guests for the week were really impressed with cottage and it’s tranquil feeling.

Should this be the standard of your other properties we will certainly be returning to one of them” – Stuart Ireland

12th August, 2017

Bridgelands Cottage Reviews

5 out of 5 Review on Trip Advisor

“Hidden Gem of Cark”

We stayed in this super cottage for two weeks and really enjoyed everything it has to offer.

Lovely and clean, really good quality beds and bedding so had a excellent nights sleep and always felt well rested.

Everything you need in a cottage for the whole of your stay was provided and the kitchen is really spacious so very enjoyable to cook those lovely meals you never seem to get the time to do in your busy life.

The fact that it is pet friendly made it even better for us and it is so well situated to visit so many places, and lovely to have a warm and welcoming cottage to come back to after a busy day exploring.

Will definitely be back as even after two weeks still didn’t manage to see everything we wanted – Pam Jenkins, St. Helens

twittername