Here’s a few links to places in the Lake District and further afield that we recommend:-

Outdoor and indoor activities for groups and families. Activities available from their base in Ullswater (close to Rose Farm) and throughout the Lake District www.distant-horizons.co.uk/client/outdoor-activities/

Located at the bottom of the cartmel Valley and by Morecambe Bay, Skydive Northwest is one of the longest established skydiving centres in the UK, taking pride in providing Skydiving Experiences for over 40 years! Sky Dive North West

Walking Books.com walking map guide cards. Each walk comes on an individual weather proof walking card with OS or Harvey mapping and a user guide and map www.walking-books.com/The-Lakeland-Pack.html

Holker Hall and Gardens – www.holker.co.uk

If you’re passionate about fine, local food, click here – www.cumbriaonaplate.co.uk/index.php

Savin Hill Farm, our favourite local farm for pork and beef – www.savin-hill.co.uk

Cartmel Races-National Hunt Races held in a stunning village location – www.cartmel-racecourse.co.uk

Alexander Clarke – Cumbria-based composer and performer – www.alexander-clarke.com

A former neighbour of mine from my years in Kendal. A truly great man
www.wainwright.org.uk

The animal rescue centre founded and funded by the master fell walker and author of the Pictorial Guides, Alfred Wainwright
www.animalsaver.co.uk

Rescue trust for English Bull Terriers-a lovley breed that is often very much misunderstood www.thebullterrierrescuetrust.co.uk/forum/index.php

English Lakes, Cartmel – www.english-lakes.com

Northern Paragliding – www.northern-paragliding.com

Marketing and leaflet distribution advice – www.npdnorth.co.uk

Download tourist leaflets for Lake District & Cumbria – www.daysoutinfo.co.uk

Sizergh Castle and other National Trust info – www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Brantwood House and gardens-home of John Ruskin – www.brantwood.org.uk

Holehird Gardens and the Lakeland Horticultural Society – www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Outdoor Cumbria : Guide to Lake District activities – www.outdoorcumbria.co.uk

Dedicated Accommodation, Eating Out and Tourist Guide for the Lake District National Park and Cumbria – www.lakedistrict-stay.co.uk

Lake District National Park Official Website – www.lake-district.gov.uk

Friends of the Lake District – www.fld.org.uk

Arnside & Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty – www.arnsidesilverdaleaonb.org.uk

Lake District World Heritage Site – www.lakeswhs.co.uk

The Tourism & Conservation Partnership – www.ourstolookafter.co.uk

Lake District Outdoors – www.lakedistrictoutdoors.co.uk

Flora of the Fells – www.floraofthefells.com

Cumbria Wildlife Trust – www.cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk

Morecambe Bay – www.morecambebay.org.uk

North Pennines – www.northpennines.org.uk

Grizedale – www.grizedale.org

Rural Cumbria – www.ruralcumbria.org.uk

Wildlife in Cumbria – wildlifeincumbria.org.uk

Adventure activities in the Lake District – www.summitreks.co.uk

www.parkparade.co.uk

www.lastminute-cottages.co.uk

Ullswater holiday rentals – Rose Farm

www.rhu.co.uk Web site with information for your local area

Our friends web site for lodges- www.stayinlodges.co.uk

Sarah Kay Photography Our favourite local photographer who specialises in hospitality/accommodation photography. We used Sarah for our most recent photos-she’s wonderful!

 

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus

Reviews

13th March, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

10th March, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

Weavers Cottage is amazing and a credit to you.

The quality of fixtures and furnishings is first class, the towels and linens were beautifully laundered. It really exceeded our expectations.  The welcome tray was much appreciated too.

We had a wonderful stay and were blessed with beautiful weather.

We have already recommended Weavers cottage to two of our family members.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay – Jan Braycotton 

20th February, 2017

Rose Farm Reviews

From email

We had a fabulous time.

We had a lovely walk to Shap Abbey on Saturday and it was so lovely to come back to a roaring fire.

The whole family were very impressed with the house and my husband was thrilled with his birthday surprise! Thanks very much – Sara Phillips, Worcestershire

twittername