7th April, 2017

Myself, my Wife and our Dog stayed at Shamrock Cottage for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago and loved the place.

It’s very well appointed, retains lots of its original charm but has been brought up to date with several mod cons. It’s exceptionally comfortable and to have the sun streaming through the bedroom window one day was just the icing on the cake.

The local pub (The Pheasant Inn) just down the road provided excellent food, ales and service and is even dog friendly. Being so close to places like Cartmel, Grange, Kendal and the Lakes means that Shamrock Cottage is ideally placed.

Loved the Goose lamp too!!

Hopefully we’ll be back some day – Stuart & Jane Payne, Stratford-upon-Avon

5th September, 2016

A big, massive, thank you to Simon once again for a beautiful stay in your lovely cottage.

This is or fourth visit to Shamrock and each time it gets better. Everything about this place is wonderful, we never want to leave. We had had ten amazing nights here with beautiful weather apart from one day.

Places to go – all dog friendly and child friendly too! We have been to quite a few nice villages and pubs.

Day one: Bardsea Beach, near Ulverston, is definitely worth a visit. The dogs can run free, beautiful streams/pools to paddle in and a lovely ice cream van too.

Day two: Ulverston, walk up to the John Barrow monument. Amazing views at the top. It takes around 45 minutes to walk and is quite easy too.

Day three: We had a drive to Lake Coniston, very picturesque village. A beautiful lake where the dogs and children can paddle. There was lots of parking too.

Day four: Walked to Cartmel from the cottage, about 45 minutes. It was a nice peaceful walk. Royal Oak pub serves delicious food too!

Day five: Visit to Bowness on Windermere. It was a very busy town. Nice walk but too many people, we prefer the quieter villages.

Day six: Back to lovely Ulverston for lots of shopping. Nice gift shops plus there is a Booths supermarket. Here Farmers Arms do nice food and lovely to sit out with a glass of wine. Very friendly.

Day seven: Back to Cartmel to go on the Lakeland Segways. Really good experience riding through Cartmel woods etc. Deffo recommend.

Day eight: The only rainy day we had so it was nice to chill out in the cottage. Very cosy all day with the fire roaring. We recommend having a nice indian from the ‘Aroma’ in Grange. We thought it was gorgeous food. They deliver to the cottage too.

Day nine: Loved today! We drove to Ullswater, about 1 hour 15minutes away, but definitely worth it. We had an amazing walk (three hours) round trip to Aira Force Waterfall. Definitely recommend the dogs loved it too.

To summarise….. wow wow wow!

Once again thank you Simon; excellent service and communication. We are looking forward to the New Year festivities here once again – with love from  – The McKays (and dogs)

22nd August, 2016

A beautiful clean and well-equipped cottage for our first break away as a family.

Perfect size for us and our 11 month old. High chair much appreciated.

First visit to Cartmel – lovely place – very quaint. We ate at the Pheasant Inn and Royal Oak. We also tried the chippy in Flookborough. Much appreciated detailed guide in ‘eating out’ section of information booklet.

Lovely terrace for adults with a good use of space with peaceful and pretty views.

All in all a great stay – will definitely recommend cottage to friends – Gemma, Barry & Lois

19th August, 2016

Gorgeous cottage in a beautiful part of the country.

Well-equipped and adequate essentials to keep us going until our shopping was delivered.

We have had a fantastic five days exploring the Lakes and local area. We walked the legs off, our dog, Oscar. Thank you – Laura, Malc, David & Oscar, Lincolnshire

25th June, 2016

Beautiful little house, great location.

Things we did: walk up Gunners How, walk to Humphrey Head (saw Peregrine nest with two chicks), visited Cartmel – found the memorial to chap who died on 30 February (!!) in the Priory. Visited Holker Hall – great cakes!

Parked in Grange-over-sands and walked up Hampsfell to the hospice. Lunch in Hazelmere – excellent cakes.

A lovely break away! – Hilary, George & Flora, Cockermouth

30th May, 2016

We had a super stay here.

We like staying in this area because it is peaceful, especially during the holidays when the likes of Windermere, Ambleside and Coniston are heaving.

It’s great to drive into the Lakes but we enjoyed the sanctuary of sitting on the terrace at Shamrock Cottage with a glass of wine in the evening sun and just hearing the sheep and cows.

A very cosy cottage and perfectly equipped.

Aside from a lunch at L’Enclume and some (amazing) fish and chips, we ate in as we loved the terrace and cosy kitchen so much.

A special place and I know we would definitely choose to stay here again.

We loved our stay so much and it has been very depressing being home.

Many thanks to you – Sarah, Watford

20th May, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely cosy cottage and exploring the South/Central Lakes.

Look forward to staying with you again soon and will highly recommend. Thank you. – Darren, Emma & Molly the dog, Leeds.

13th May, 2016

Had a lovely visit – very peaceful!

We particularly enjoyed the outside space and the coastal view. Excellent food and local produce.

Aim to be back later in the year. – Gary & Maureen Eastwood, Middlesex

6th May, 2016

This was a very last minute booking to convalesce from surgery. It has been perfect and what we both needed. The sun shone on us all the time.

We will be back for more walks when recovered. Thank you so much. – James & Deborah, Loughborough

29th April, 2016

Another excellent stay at this cosy cottage.

Thank you to Simon & Ailsa for the extra touches. – Rob & Tina, Calthorpe

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

7th April, 2017

Shamrock Cottage Reviews

Myself, my Wife and our Dog stayed at Shamrock Cottage for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago and loved the place.

It’s very well appointed, retains lots of its original charm but has been brought up to date with several mod cons. It’s exceptionally comfortable and to have the sun streaming through the bedroom window one day was just the icing on the cake.

The local pub (The Pheasant Inn) just down the road provided excellent food, ales and service and is even dog friendly. Being so close to places like Cartmel, Grange, Kendal and the Lakes means that Shamrock Cottage is ideally placed.

Loved the Goose lamp too!!

Hopefully we’ll be back some day – Stuart & Jane Payne, Stratford-upon-Avon

13th March, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

10th March, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

Weavers Cottage is amazing and a credit to you.

The quality of fixtures and furnishings is first class, the towels and linens were beautifully laundered. It really exceeded our expectations.  The welcome tray was much appreciated too.

We had a wonderful stay and were blessed with beautiful weather.

We have already recommended Weavers cottage to two of our family members.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay – Jan Braycotton 

twittername