14th April, 2017

A perfect, cosy, quiet, warm and clean cottage.

We explored the area by foot and car. First time in South Cumbria and what a hidden gem. The birds sang the whole time plus we saw sunshine in amongst the rain.

Thank you – Poppy, Wayne & Irish, Suffolk

7th April, 2017

Myself, my Wife and our Dog stayed at Shamrock Cottage for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago and loved the place.

It’s very well appointed, retains lots of its original charm but has been brought up to date with several mod cons. It’s exceptionally comfortable and to have the sun streaming through the bedroom window one day was just the icing on the cake.

The local pub (The Pheasant Inn) just down the road provided excellent food, ales and service and is even dog friendly. Being so close to places like Cartmel, Grange, Kendal and the Lakes means that Shamrock Cottage is ideally placed.

Loved the Goose lamp too!!

Hopefully we’ll be back some day – Stuart & Jane Payne, Stratford-upon-Avon

10th April, 2017

A lovely relaxing stay in a beautiful little cottage.

I managed a little sleep on the terrace at sunset! A great walk up Wansfell in Ambleside which meant one tired dog – Jess, Tim & Arnold the dog, Newark

31st March, 2017

We enjoyed the beautiful cosy cottage.

We had a relaxed four days exploring the surrounding area. Lovely walks with Chester and an enjoyable evening in The Pheasant.

The cottage is perfect and we will definitely be returning, thank you – Nancy & Jeff with Chester the dog, Bolton

24th March, 2017

Had a lovely week.

The weather was mostly good. We enjoyed exploring the area. The cottage is lovely – Sue & Vic, Nottingham

19th March, 2017

Lovely cottage – spotless!

Wet outside but still had great walks 5* – Jane & Kev, Blackpool

17th March, 2017

A lovely week exploring the area and spending cosy evenings at the cottage with a fire lit.

Great location and so peaceful – Jenny & Paul, Cheshire

27th February, 2017

Had a lovely weekend in a very cosy cottage – Mark & Karen Butterworth

24th February, 2017

Beautiful cosy cottage which had everything we could need and more. Excellent welcome pack!

Leaving thoroughly relaxed and would definitely return – Judy, Alan, Emily & Holly the spaniel

6th February, 2017

Beautiful cottage and spotlessly clean – Jon & Elaine, Wales

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

We had a lovely week at Carree Cottage.

The accommodation and facilities were very good, as was the weather!

I am more familiar with the Central and Northern Lakes and this was our first visit to the Lake District Peninsulas. It’s different but equally attractive. Hopefully it won’t be our last – Stephen Hague, Poringland, Norfolk

8th May, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

From Email:-

The quality of everything was great, you could tell you have taken time to get it all just right.

The house worked really well in terms of the layout. The children loved the games room and thought the keyboard was great.

We absolutely dropped on with the weather but even when it went cooler the summer house was perfect.

I have recommended you to friends and we are also trying to work out plans to return next summer for a longer period.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again soon.  If you ever decide to sell up please let us know, we would move there in a flash! – Lisa Kenrick

1st May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

Well, what a “blast from the past” this weekend has been!

I had forgotten what a wonderful childhood I had.

Carree cottage and Cark have reminded me of how simple and lovely life used to be.  Being able to roam for miles without any traffic to worry about, hardly seeing a soul whilst listening to nature and watching the constantly changing landscape, then coming back home starving, picking up a freshly baked loaf from the local bakery and toasting it on the warm and cosy real fire, spreading it with lashings of real butter and washing it down with a hot mug of tea, there really is nothing finer in my book!

The cottage is quirky and very charming, retaining many of it’s original features whilst still providing all of the modern luxuries you would expect, like a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom (sorry to disappoint but no tin bath in front of the fire!) But it does have very comfortable beds.  In fact all the right ingredients to ensure you have a very relaxing stay in a quaint little village that has all the shops and dog friendly pubs you will need.

The Engine Inn serves food, great hand pulled beers and has a big roaring fire creating a lovely atmosphere where everyone is friendly and happy to have a chat.  Brilliant!

The Rose and Crown is just a couple of minutes up the road where you can sit out on the terrace with a drink overlooking Morecambe bay.

Whilst in the area a visit to Cartmel is only a 3 minute drive or 20 minute’s walk away where you can browse the eclectic shops before picking up some lovely cheeses and wine to accompany the locally bought bread from the bakery.  Oh, and don’t forget the famous sticky toffee pudding too!

If like me you fondly reminisce about how good things used to be, but still like the luxuries of today, then this might just be the place you’re looking for!

Thank you Simon and your brilliant team for delivering yet another memorable holiday!

Lynne, Rob, Catherine and Sonny

twittername