Please Note: We've only started renting out Charcoal House in March 2016.

21st April, 2017

What a wonderful cottage, perfectly appointed with everything we could possibly need and more!

Loved the views from the balcony and walks directly across the doorstep – The Damant Family

14th April, 2017

This was a family break and this was the perfect venue for the whole family to do things at their own pace from me down to my Granddaughter aged one and two dogs.

They had some great days out but had equal fun on their return to Charcoal House.

Great family cooked meals in the Aga. And then the retiring to the lounge for evening drinking and watching by the log burner.

The facilities were fantastic, we’d definitely come again 10/10 – The Simmons Family

6th April, 2017

The weather was so wonderful, only half a day of rain. The Italian member of our group was very impressed. No need to use the wood burning stove.

We really enjoyed our walk up the Old Man of Coniston and the view of him from the balcony is wonderful. The dogs have a great time, lovely walks over Bethecar Moor and Blawith Common.

Beautiful rooms in a very cosy house. We mastered the Aga during our stay and found it very useful for drying our socks on after a boggy walk.

We can’t wait to come back and explore more – The Lloyd Family

17th March, 2017

The perfect house for our fabulous family get together.

We loved the location and property and were very lucky with the weather!

Thank you for thinking of everything that makes a stay so homely, comfortable and special.

Each room was well appointed and stylish.

We look forward to returning soon – Sally, Toby and Grandies

13th March, 2017

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

22nd January, 2017

Thank you so much for a glorious few days here at Charcoal House.

From the minute we stepped foot inside this beautiful location we knew it was going to be a special place.

The cleanliness is 2nd to none and the house is furnished to an exceedingly high standard with views to die for. The location is superb too.

Simon couldn’t have done enough for us and we are already planning our next trip here in spring time. Many thanks – The Brooksy’s, Liverpool

30th December, 2016

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lakes retreat”

We had a wonderful time over Christmas at Charcoal House.

The house is really spacious and is entered through a welcoming, well-equipped kitchen with an AGA keeping it lovely, toasty and homely.

The decor in the house was the perfect blend of country comfort with contemporary colours so it appealed to all ages within our family, all of whom had a great time.

The views from the balcony off the first floor living room are great and the log burning stove in the room makes it even more cosy. We’d love to go back – Nick & Family, Bath, Somerset 

Christmas 2016

Thank you so much. We all had a lovely time staying in your beautiful home.

We had a relaxing time and enjoyed some lovely walks around Coniston.

The house is amazing and very comfortable and well equipped.

We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back sometime. Thank you so much – The Law Family

28th November, 2016

Great place – had a good family birthday weekend get together and enjoyed facilities.

The weather was very kind- had two shining days with perfect sun and frost.

Had a great meal out at Steam Bistro in Coniston – would thoroughly recommend it – even coped well with gluten free requirements – Fiona Drake, Matlock, Derbyshire

21st October, 2016

We had a fantastic stay and the house was great!

This was our first stay in the cottage but we thought it was amazing. We enjoyed many walks around the area and a great meal at Millee Howe.

Thanks again for a fantastic stay – Kharee, Tracey, Lili, Amelia, Eabian & Laika

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

We had a lovely week at Carree Cottage.

The accommodation and facilities were very good, as was the weather!

I am more familiar with the Central and Northern Lakes and this was our first visit to the Lake District Peninsulas. It’s different but equally attractive. Hopefully it won’t be our last – Stephen Hague, Poringland, Norfolk

8th May, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

From Email:-

The quality of everything was great, you could tell you have taken time to get it all just right.

The house worked really well in terms of the layout. The children loved the games room and thought the keyboard was great.

We absolutely dropped on with the weather but even when it went cooler the summer house was perfect.

I have recommended you to friends and we are also trying to work out plans to return next summer for a longer period.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again soon.  If you ever decide to sell up please let us know, we would move there in a flash! – Lisa Kenrick

1st May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

Well, what a “blast from the past” this weekend has been!

I had forgotten what a wonderful childhood I had.

Carree cottage and Cark have reminded me of how simple and lovely life used to be.  Being able to roam for miles without any traffic to worry about, hardly seeing a soul whilst listening to nature and watching the constantly changing landscape, then coming back home starving, picking up a freshly baked loaf from the local bakery and toasting it on the warm and cosy real fire, spreading it with lashings of real butter and washing it down with a hot mug of tea, there really is nothing finer in my book!

The cottage is quirky and very charming, retaining many of it’s original features whilst still providing all of the modern luxuries you would expect, like a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom (sorry to disappoint but no tin bath in front of the fire!) But it does have very comfortable beds.  In fact all the right ingredients to ensure you have a very relaxing stay in a quaint little village that has all the shops and dog friendly pubs you will need.

The Engine Inn serves food, great hand pulled beers and has a big roaring fire creating a lovely atmosphere where everyone is friendly and happy to have a chat.  Brilliant!

The Rose and Crown is just a couple of minutes up the road where you can sit out on the terrace with a drink overlooking Morecambe bay.

Whilst in the area a visit to Cartmel is only a 3 minute drive or 20 minute’s walk away where you can browse the eclectic shops before picking up some lovely cheeses and wine to accompany the locally bought bread from the bakery.  Oh, and don’t forget the famous sticky toffee pudding too!

If like me you fondly reminisce about how good things used to be, but still like the luxuries of today, then this might just be the place you’re looking for!

Thank you Simon and your brilliant team for delivering yet another memorable holiday!

Lynne, Rob, Catherine and Sonny

twittername