Please Note: We've only started renting out Charcoal House in March 2016.

13th March, 2017

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

22nd January, 2017

Thank you so much for a glorious few days here at Charcoal House.

From the minute we stepped foot inside this beautiful location we knew it was going to be a special place.

The cleanliness is 2nd to none and the house is furnished to an exceedingly high standard with views to die for. The location is superb too.

Simon couldn’t have done enough for us and we are already planning our next trip here in spring time. Many thanks – The Brooksy’s, Liverpool

30th December, 2016

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

“Perfect Lakes retreat”

We had a wonderful time over Christmas at Charcoal House.

The house is really spacious and is entered through a welcoming, well-equipped kitchen with an AGA keeping it lovely, toasty and homely.

The decor in the house was the perfect blend of country comfort with contemporary colours so it appealed to all ages within our family, all of whom had a great time.

The views from the balcony off the first floor living room are great and the log burning stove in the room makes it even more cosy. We’d love to go back – Nick & Family, Bath, Somerset 

23rd September, 2016

Wonderful stay with the extended family.

The house has everything you could need and The Nook was well equipped too.

Log fire was mazing in the evenings.

All in all it was stunning.

Hope to be back again soon- The extended Mackenzie family, Worcester

16th September, 2016

Please can I just live here forever!?!

We all loved the house. Someone has wonderful taste, I’m going home to redecorate!

The Royal Oak at Sparks Bridge is great.

We’ll be back!! – The Hinks & Aitken’s

3rd September, 2016

A beautiful and well-appointed cottage in a stunning location.

We recommend the Cliffhanger ‘Escape’ rooms at Lakeland Village. Lunch at the Village Store at Cartmel and mountain biking at Grizedale – stunning!

Loved the Bakehouse at Greenodd too – take away pizzas are good from there too – The Walkers

20th August, 2016

We had an amazing holiday which was definitely helped by the fantastic accommodation.

Everything we could possibly want here and we were blessed with wonderful weather. Would definitely return – The Juniper Family

6th August 2016

Written on Facebook, 5 stars

We stayed at beautiful Charcoal Cottage for a week with extended family. It was the perfect place and we enjoyed lots of barbecues and family dinners together.

The pictures do not do it justice especially the living room which is fabulous – would highly recommend – The Wilkins family, Harrow, Middlesex

30th July, 2016

Had a truly wonderful time here at a lovely cottage.

Very well-equipped and furnished to an exceptional standard.

Thank you. – The Walsh family

22 July, 2016

Home from home!

Such a lovely cottage to stay in – everything we needed and more.

Hope to return before too long – perfect escape. –  The Oates family

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

7th April, 2017

Shamrock Cottage Reviews

Myself, my Wife and our Dog stayed at Shamrock Cottage for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago and loved the place.

It’s very well appointed, retains lots of its original charm but has been brought up to date with several mod cons. It’s exceptionally comfortable and to have the sun streaming through the bedroom window one day was just the icing on the cake.

The local pub (The Pheasant Inn) just down the road provided excellent food, ales and service and is even dog friendly. Being so close to places like Cartmel, Grange, Kendal and the Lakes means that Shamrock Cottage is ideally placed.

Loved the Goose lamp too!!

Hopefully we’ll be back some day – Stuart & Jane Payne, Stratford-upon-Avon

13th March, 2017

Charcoal House Reviews

5 of 5 stars Review on Trip Advisor

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough.

We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal House is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break.

The downstairs kitchen, dinner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner.

We have stayed in many places that advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at Charcoal House is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. There is even had a Nutri Ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch.

We could have happily stayed for longer!

Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties – Sarah Lennox

10th March, 2017

Weavers Cottages Reviews

From Email

Weavers Cottage is amazing and a credit to you.

The quality of fixtures and furnishings is first class, the towels and linens were beautifully laundered. It really exceeded our expectations.  The welcome tray was much appreciated too.

We had a wonderful stay and were blessed with beautiful weather.

We have already recommended Weavers cottage to two of our family members.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay – Jan Braycotton 

twittername