Please Note: We started renting out Cartmel Hill in June 2016.

8th May, 2017

From Email:-

The quality of everything was great, you could tell you have taken time to get it all just right.

The house worked really well in terms of the layout. The children loved the games room and thought the keyboard was great.

We absolutely dropped on with the weather but even when it went cooler the summer house was perfect.

I have recommended you to friends and we are also trying to work out plans to return next summer for a longer period.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again soon.  If you ever decide to sell up please let us know, we would move there in a flash! – Lisa Kenrick

14th April, 2017

Beautiful views and fabulous weather especially the weekend!

We were able to eat out breakfast, lunch and dinner all weekend.

Walks are brilliant, can’t get over all the primroses, woodland with wild garlic and bluebells. Lots of wildlife to see all around.

We have really enjoyed our stay and are already planning to return – The Jackson Family, Tadcaster

7th April, 2017

A wonderful five days in a beautiful house.

We had some sunny days to enjoy the garden and some colder ones to enjoy the house.

Everything was perfect, thank you – The Reeds (Manchester) & Asbridges (Bolton)

3rd April, 2017

One word – fabulous!

We had a wonderful weekend with the family. Loved every minute and will be back – Paul & Elizabeth Aspinall, Liverpool

24th February, 2017

Talk about saving the best till last!

We had had the honour of visiting all of Simon’s cottages now and this one is exceptional. We love everything about it. Saying that, all his cottages are stunning and it is a pleasure to visit them.

Although we weren’t lucky with the weather it at least gave us an excuse to spend even more time in this house.

We will definitely return – the best cottages and service in the Lakes, thank you – Shona, Gray with Dusty the dog, Clayton-le-Woods

17th February, 2017

Great weather helped this week’s activities.

It’s been enjoyed by everyone – such friendly people.

Beautiful house with great views across the countryside – The Peers Family, Cheshire

28th November, 2016

Fantastic weekend in the Lakes in a beautiful house!

There is loads of space and it is very homely with amazing views.

Perfect for a weekend away – thank you – Cionna, Leanne & friends

20th November, 2016

Excellent weekend, lovely house.

Great food at the Royal Oak. Clean and warm, perfect – Richard Pollock & friends, York & Cheshire

14th November, 2016

We visit the Lakes often usually staying in cottages, and this is by far our favourite.

We had a great time – loads of space and lovely décor. All amenities were excellent. There is loads of space in the house and a great base for exploring.

Pay a visit to the Cavendish Arms – Richard is a great host and lovely food at the Royal Oak – The Tymon Family, York

11th November, 2016

From Email

Just to let you know we really enjoyed our visit to Cartmel Hill. The house was just great, so comfortable a real home from home and so well equipped.

The location was stunning and so easy to walk down to Cartmel indeed we had some fantastic walks from the house with the most wonderful views.

We love Cartmel and hope to visit again soon. Many thanks – Lesley Dowie and family, Perth, Scotland

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

We had a lovely week at Carree Cottage.

The accommodation and facilities were very good, as was the weather!

I am more familiar with the Central and Northern Lakes and this was our first visit to the Lake District Peninsulas. It’s different but equally attractive. Hopefully it won’t be our last – Stephen Hague, Poringland, Norfolk

8th May, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

From Email:-

The quality of everything was great, you could tell you have taken time to get it all just right.

The house worked really well in terms of the layout. The children loved the games room and thought the keyboard was great.

We absolutely dropped on with the weather but even when it went cooler the summer house was perfect.

I have recommended you to friends and we are also trying to work out plans to return next summer for a longer period.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again soon.  If you ever decide to sell up please let us know, we would move there in a flash! – Lisa Kenrick

1st May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

Well, what a “blast from the past” this weekend has been!

I had forgotten what a wonderful childhood I had.

Carree cottage and Cark have reminded me of how simple and lovely life used to be.  Being able to roam for miles without any traffic to worry about, hardly seeing a soul whilst listening to nature and watching the constantly changing landscape, then coming back home starving, picking up a freshly baked loaf from the local bakery and toasting it on the warm and cosy real fire, spreading it with lashings of real butter and washing it down with a hot mug of tea, there really is nothing finer in my book!

The cottage is quirky and very charming, retaining many of it’s original features whilst still providing all of the modern luxuries you would expect, like a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom (sorry to disappoint but no tin bath in front of the fire!) But it does have very comfortable beds.  In fact all the right ingredients to ensure you have a very relaxing stay in a quaint little village that has all the shops and dog friendly pubs you will need.

The Engine Inn serves food, great hand pulled beers and has a big roaring fire creating a lovely atmosphere where everyone is friendly and happy to have a chat.  Brilliant!

The Rose and Crown is just a couple of minutes up the road where you can sit out on the terrace with a drink overlooking Morecambe bay.

Whilst in the area a visit to Cartmel is only a 3 minute drive or 20 minute’s walk away where you can browse the eclectic shops before picking up some lovely cheeses and wine to accompany the locally bought bread from the bakery.  Oh, and don’t forget the famous sticky toffee pudding too!

If like me you fondly reminisce about how good things used to be, but still like the luxuries of today, then this might just be the place you’re looking for!

Thank you Simon and your brilliant team for delivering yet another memorable holiday!

Lynne, Rob, Catherine and Sonny

twittername