12th May, 2017

From Email:-

We had a lovely week at Carree Cottage.

The accommodation and facilities were very good, as was the weather!

I am more familiar with the Central and Northern Lakes and this was our first visit to the Lake District Peninsulas. It’s different but equally attractive. Hopefully it won’t be our last – Stephen Hague, Poringland, Norfolk

1st May, 2017

From Email:-

Well, what a “blast from the past” this weekend has been!

I had forgotten what a wonderful childhood I had.

Carree cottage and Cark have reminded me of how simple and lovely life used to be.  Being able to roam for miles without any traffic to worry about, hardly seeing a soul whilst listening to nature and watching the constantly changing landscape, then coming back home starving, picking up a freshly baked loaf from the local bakery and toasting it on the warm and cosy real fire, spreading it with lashings of real butter and washing it down with a hot mug of tea, there really is nothing finer in my book!

The cottage is quirky and very charming, retaining many of it’s original features whilst still providing all of the modern luxuries you would expect, like a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom (sorry to disappoint but no tin bath in front of the fire!) But it does have very comfortable beds.  In fact all the right ingredients to ensure you have a very relaxing stay in a quaint little village that has all the shops and dog friendly pubs you will need.

The Engine Inn serves food, great hand pulled beers and has a big roaring fire creating a lovely atmosphere where everyone is friendly and happy to have a chat.  Brilliant!

The Rose and Crown is just a couple of minutes up the road where you can sit out on the terrace with a drink overlooking Morecambe bay.

Whilst in the area a visit to Cartmel is only a 3 minute drive or 20 minute’s walk away where you can browse the eclectic shops before picking up some lovely cheeses and wine to accompany the locally bought bread from the bakery.  Oh, and don’t forget the famous sticky toffee pudding too!

If like me you fondly reminisce about how good things used to be, but still like the luxuries of today, then this might just be the place you’re looking for!

Thank you Simon and your brilliant team for delivering yet another memorable holiday!

Lynne, Rob, Catherine and Sonny

5th February, 2017

We’ve had a wonderful weekend away here. The cottage is so homely, warm and cosy.

Pizza from the Fat Flour Artisan bakery was amazing and Cliffhanger Escape Rooms in Lakeland Village is so much fun.

Will definitely be staying again – Becky, Tom and Lunar, Grimsby

9th December, 2016

Loved this cottage and the beautiful surroundings!

It was exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely come back – Karen & Daniel, London

11th November, 2016

Lovely cottage!

A great place to explore from. It ticks all the boxes. Many thanks – Debbie & Rob

14th October, 2016

Lovely cottage, we enjoyed our stay.

There are plenty of walks locally. The pizzas are very nice from Fat Flour Bakery. We also ate at The Rose & Crown round the corner which was very nice.

The weather has been great. We will definitely return as it’s a good base. Thank you – Chris, Alison, Kim & James, South Yorkshire

23rd September, 2016

Just a quick email to say thank you for the warm welcome feeling on entering the cottage, the lamps being on and the knowledge of being able to have a cuppa was really nice.

We enjoyed our stay very much, my daughter was especially happy which is a big plus as sadly she has health problems and OCD which plays a factor in this, so for her to be so relaxed and content was a big plus.

My son had stayed in 1 of your cottages last year so we booked on his recommendation and are glad we did.

Hopefully in the future we can make a second visit.

Thank you and a big thank you to the person who cleans the cottage as well – Anna McGlynn, Brighouse, West Yorkshire

23rd Sept, 2016

Really enjoyable stay, the cottage feels like it opens its doors and welcomes you.

Really high standards, lovely area – Josie McGlynn, Brighouse

4th September, 2016

A fun packed few days.

We loved the local walk with our dog Harry. Boys enjoyed Chocolate Factor, Bolthole and sailing at Low Wood.

Some great weather, lovely views and a super base to come home to. A great break – Adam, Jamie & Harry

15 July, 2016

Great few days.

Lovely walk to Cartmel, The Priory and Hampsfield Fell.

We enjoyed the train journey round the bay to Arnside. Artisan bakery and pizzas were really good. – Marian & family, Durham

Check Availability


Arrival Date
Length of stay
nights

Holiday Cottages Cumbria
Gorgeous holiday cottages in the English Lake District

4 star
See our

4 star cottages

5 star
See our

5 star cottages

Our Cottages

SLEEPS

2

to

8
2

to

10

FREE wifi

in all of our cottages

cards
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • Instagram

Reviews

12th May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

We had a lovely week at Carree Cottage.

The accommodation and facilities were very good, as was the weather!

I am more familiar with the Central and Northern Lakes and this was our first visit to the Lake District Peninsulas. It’s different but equally attractive. Hopefully it won’t be our last – Stephen Hague, Poringland, Norfolk

8th May, 2017

Cartmel Hill Reviews

From Email:-

The quality of everything was great, you could tell you have taken time to get it all just right.

The house worked really well in terms of the layout. The children loved the games room and thought the keyboard was great.

We absolutely dropped on with the weather but even when it went cooler the summer house was perfect.

I have recommended you to friends and we are also trying to work out plans to return next summer for a longer period.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again soon.  If you ever decide to sell up please let us know, we would move there in a flash! – Lisa Kenrick

1st May, 2017

Carree Cottage Reviews

From Email:-

Well, what a “blast from the past” this weekend has been!

I had forgotten what a wonderful childhood I had.

Carree cottage and Cark have reminded me of how simple and lovely life used to be.  Being able to roam for miles without any traffic to worry about, hardly seeing a soul whilst listening to nature and watching the constantly changing landscape, then coming back home starving, picking up a freshly baked loaf from the local bakery and toasting it on the warm and cosy real fire, spreading it with lashings of real butter and washing it down with a hot mug of tea, there really is nothing finer in my book!

The cottage is quirky and very charming, retaining many of it’s original features whilst still providing all of the modern luxuries you would expect, like a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom (sorry to disappoint but no tin bath in front of the fire!) But it does have very comfortable beds.  In fact all the right ingredients to ensure you have a very relaxing stay in a quaint little village that has all the shops and dog friendly pubs you will need.

The Engine Inn serves food, great hand pulled beers and has a big roaring fire creating a lovely atmosphere where everyone is friendly and happy to have a chat.  Brilliant!

The Rose and Crown is just a couple of minutes up the road where you can sit out on the terrace with a drink overlooking Morecambe bay.

Whilst in the area a visit to Cartmel is only a 3 minute drive or 20 minute’s walk away where you can browse the eclectic shops before picking up some lovely cheeses and wine to accompany the locally bought bread from the bakery.  Oh, and don’t forget the famous sticky toffee pudding too!

If like me you fondly reminisce about how good things used to be, but still like the luxuries of today, then this might just be the place you’re looking for!

Thank you Simon and your brilliant team for delivering yet another memorable holiday!

Lynne, Rob, Catherine and Sonny

twittername